problem finding files

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by dirteemac, Mar 26, 2006.

  1. dirteemac

    dirteemac hey, how are you?

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2001
    Messages:
    7,776
    Likes Received:
    1
    I've tried exporting a few quicktime files in to a folder called "volumes" on my main hd, but then when I quit out of fcp to retreive them I can't find this folder anywhere, even by typing the names of the exported movies into spotlight, even though I'm pretty sure they're there (I can see the "volumes" folder and what's in it when i'm in FCP and am choosing where I want my exported files to go but only when i do this). Can somebody please help?
     
  2. robwormald

    robwormald New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2002
    Messages:
    33,035
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    ATX
    dont export them to volumes :o

    its sorta the root of you drive and not easily accessible

    volumes/mac HD... so its above your HD
     
  3. dirteemac

    dirteemac hey, how are you?

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2001
    Messages:
    7,776
    Likes Received:
    1
    Well i know that now. I wonder why if I'm not supposed to do this then why it's like the most common option i get for when I want to export a file from FCP. Any ideas how to acess this or delete the fiels that are in there?
     
  4. IcyHot4Life

    IcyHot4Life Str8 Ballin'

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2002
    Messages:
    18,151
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Inquire Within
    IIRC /Volumes is just there as a mount point for any drives or partitions that are not the root partition. therefore it's a real bad place to try to save anything.
     
  5. mobbarley

    mobbarley Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2005
    Messages:
    9,256
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    Sydney
    unmount all drives other than your primary & the files should reappear.
     
  6. mobbarley

    mobbarley Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2005
    Messages:
    9,256
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    Sydney
    try: umount -a
     
  7. dirteemac

    dirteemac hey, how are you?

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2001
    Messages:
    7,776
    Likes Received:
    1
    How exactly do I perform this operation?
     
  8. dirteemac

    dirteemac hey, how are you?

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2001
    Messages:
    7,776
    Likes Received:
    1

    Yes, I know this now. I wonder why FCP likes to give me this option if it's so bad.
     
  9. dirteemac

    dirteemac hey, how are you?

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2001
    Messages:
    7,776
    Likes Received:
    1
    C'mon nerds, I need help here, these files are taking up valuable hard drive space.
     
  10. IcyHot4Life

    IcyHot4Life Str8 Ballin'

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2002
    Messages:
    18,151
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Inquire Within
    wait, what's the problem here? look in /Volumes if that's where you saved it :hsugh:

    use apple-shift-g to get the "go to" dialogue if need be, and type in "/Volumes/" as the path.
     
  11. dirteemac

    dirteemac hey, how are you?

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2001
    Messages:
    7,776
    Likes Received:
    1
    Thanks for your help. I'm not as computer savvy as i'd like to be.

    I tried apple-shift-g but when I do that, it won't let me type anything in there.

    edit: tried it again and it works this time :bigthumb:

    freed up 9 gb :bigok:
     
    Last edited: Mar 29, 2006
  12. IcyHot4Life

    IcyHot4Life Str8 Ballin'

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2002
    Messages:
    18,151
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Inquire Within
    :coold: glad to help
     

Share This Page