Problem after installing head unit

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by Copenhagen, Nov 17, 2005.

  1. Copenhagen

    Copenhagen New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2004
    Messages:
    723
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Austin, Texas
    Last night I was installing a new head unit, I plugged the harness up and it had power for 2 seconds. So I checked all the fuses, there all good. Then I tried to start my car and it won't crank, it will turn over just never start up. Anyone have any ideas?
     
  2. JRock10

    JRock10 Active Member

    Joined:
    May 25, 2005
    Messages:
    7,751
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Nashville, TN FTW
    :eek4:....more detail please. car, radio, hardwired or used an aftermarket harness?
     
  3. Copenhagen

    Copenhagen New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2004
    Messages:
    723
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Austin, Texas
    2000 Kia Sephia, and I used an aftermarket harness

    Deck-http://www.bestbuy.com/site/olspage.jsp?skuId=6981313&type=product&productCategoryId=pcmcat52600050007&id=1099388410286
     
  4. veonake

    veonake OnT poster, OT lurker

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2004
    Messages:
    4,235
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    NYC
    You must have blown a fuse somewhere, maybe to the fuel pump? Check every fuse. Also, disconnect the head unit (do this with the negative cable disconnected) and try it.
     
  5. dbdraggin

    dbdraggin New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2002
    Messages:
    1,252
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    eastern pa
    in most cars there another fuse panel located under the hood, check there to see if anythings blown... most likely thats where your problem lies.
     

Share This Page