A&P Price for designing a band logo?

Discussion in 'Lifestyle' started by themolsen, May 10, 2009.

1. themolsen

themolsen New Member

How much should I charge a band for designing a logo? They're going to use it for anything you could imagine: website, posters, flyers, album cover (ultimately). They're not HUGE yet, just a local band that plays A LOT.

I've done a couple photo things for them, and they like the logo ideas I've had, so I know I'm in business. I just have no idea what to charge them. This place http://www.rockbandlogo.com/ does them for $155.

2. Girth

Girth ¯\_(ツ)_/¯ OT Supporter

what you should do is send me an estimate for designing a logo for me. :big grin:

3. themolsen

themolsen New Member

I'll think of some ideas...if I can come up with anything I'll let you know.

I'm really not a pro at this, but the band really liked a couple of the mock-ups I presented to them, so I figured what the hell.

Now what the hell do I charge? I'm thinking around $120 or something

4. isaac86hatch

isaac86hatch This thread sucks

I want to throw up when I hear about people designing identity marks for $155.

5. Girth

Girth ¯\_(ツ)_/¯ OT Supporter

most people I've asked work by the hour... I'd say $150 is a good round about number. :dunno:

6. themolsen

themolsen New Member

we're not talking about a business here. this is just a local band. what would you suggest I charge?

7. Jbrown

Jbrown OT Supporter

$150 is plenty. Their a small band, if they were big then yeah you'd charge more...

8. Jbrown

Jbrown OT Supporter

I've been looking into having a logo made for myself, prices are usually around $100...

9. turbodude

turbodude Just a photographer OT Supporter

you are creating a brand. Depending on how they use it, you should be charging to develop that Brand. What happens if they hit it big and utilize that logo for everything, and all you got was 150 bucks?