Pri Master Hard Disk:S.M.A.R.T. Status Bad?

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by onedownfiveup, Apr 2, 2007.

  1. onedownfiveup

    onedownfiveup Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2005
    Messages:
    18,222
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    KC
    I started my computer up tonight and I got Pri Master Hard Disk:S.M.A.R.T. Status Bad? message asking to back up or repair.

    What does that mean? Never seen that before.
     
  2. deusexaethera

    deusexaethera OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2005
    Messages:
    19,712
    Likes Received:
    0
    It means your hard drive is about to die. Buy a new one and copy the old one to it SOON.
     
  3. onedownfiveup

    onedownfiveup Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2005
    Messages:
    18,222
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    KC
    I hooked another hard drive to my computer and it said the same thing.
     
  4. deusexaethera

    deusexaethera OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2005
    Messages:
    19,712
    Likes Received:
    0
    Replace the cable then. Buy a new one. Make sure it's 80-wire, 40-pin.
     
  5. onedownfiveup

    onedownfiveup Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2005
    Messages:
    18,222
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    KC
    Weird, it's a brand new cable (just built this computer in Jan) I just used my old hard drive from my other computer.
     
  6. P07r0457

    P07r0457 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2004
    Messages:
    28,491
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Southern Oregon
    99% of the time, it's a bad drive. But it could also be the controller or cable. You need to check the SMART stats on the drive to know for sure what it *thinks* is wrong... Download a utility to read the SMART stats.
     
  7. dorkultra

    dorkultra OT's resident crohns dude OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2005
    Messages:
    22,736
    Likes Received:
    27
    Location:
    yinzer / nilbog, trollhio
    for the utility, i recommend spinrite
     
  8. deusexaethera

    deusexaethera OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2005
    Messages:
    19,712
    Likes Received:
    0
    Seagate SeaTools is good for scanning S.M.A.R.T. codes, but only if the drives aren't hidden behind a RAID controller. If you don't know what a RAID controller is, you don't have one and you shouldn't worry about it.
     
  9. Create

    Create :free at last:

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2006
    Messages:
    8,043
    Likes Received:
    2
    As an interim, couldn't he disable SMART in BIOS?

    I agree, 99% sure HDD is about to crash. If my above solution works I wouldn't trust it past a boot or two.
     
  10. cracka.

    cracka. Guest

    Sounds like something I had to put up with, I built my comp 2 years ago and right of the bat I had smart hd coming up bitching about a 40 gig that was going bad.. 1 1/2 year later it did, and sectors were going out.. fucking sucked too.. worked fine up til then... I would try another new hd if you get the same shit then get a new mobo.
     
  11. deusexaethera

    deusexaethera OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2005
    Messages:
    19,712
    Likes Received:
    0
    Yeah, and you can ignore the doctor when he says that smoking aggravates your cancer, but that's not a good idea either.
     

Share This Page