Preventing HotLinking in IIS6?

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by IAMwhitey, Nov 19, 2004.

  1. IAMwhitey

    IAMwhitey New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2001
    Messages:
    1,010
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Pittsburgh, PA
    [​IMG]

    can't get it to work... anyone have any experience with this?
     
  2. yogip

    yogip Guest

    i'm not sure if there are any iis specific ways, but if you're using ASP or PHP, you can do a referer URL check. you should be using apache anyway :)
     
  3. P07r0457

    P07r0457 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2004
    Messages:
    28,491
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Southern Oregon
    Apache on windows is :greddy:

    it's good with linux, but IIS6 is SOOOOOOO much more stable/secure/feature-rich on the Windows platform.

    I hereby decree that any faggots who respond with "shoulda used linux" or "shoulda used apache" shall forever have huge cocks in their mouths. :nono:
     
  4. The Bastard

    The Bastard Guest


    Reminds me of one forum I visit where the embolden rule is that you get banned for telling someone "linux is better than windows" when the question is clearly not which is better or worse. Just gets annoying because those answers serve no purpose.

    I have a question of my own: does IIS6 come packaged with Windows 2003? Thinking of installing it on an XP machine as a test bed.
     
  5. P07r0457

    P07r0457 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2004
    Messages:
    28,491
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Southern Oregon
    IIS6 is integrated with Windows Server 2003, yes. Unfortunatly, you cannot install it on Windows 2000 or XP. 2000 gets IIS5, and XP gets IIS5.1
     
  6. kingtoad

    kingtoad OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2003
    Messages:
    55,922
    Likes Received:
    11
    Location:
    Los Angeles
    I'm not going to say he should have used apache/linux, but damn, disabling hotlinking consists of throwing an .htaccess file with the apporpiate global variables in the root directory. Much easier.

    With IIS, I beleive you have to write an ASP script to do it.

    This guy wrote an ASP.NET script and will also tell you how to set it up. Check it out

    http://www.irritatedvowel.com/Programming/DeepLinkingHttpModule.aspx
     
  7. yogip

    yogip Guest

  8. IAMwhitey

    IAMwhitey New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2001
    Messages:
    1,010
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Pittsburgh, PA
    thanks... and I use windows cause i like windows and i know it better then linux... but i do have a linux box too... who cares..

    Yeah i found that isapi rewrite and i am working to get that to function properly
     
  9. IAMwhitey

    IAMwhitey New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2001
    Messages:
    1,010
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Pittsburgh, PA
    woohoo got it to work!
     

Share This Page