Pretty disappointed.

Discussion in 'That'll Buff Right Out' started by makemedie, Jan 19, 2008.

1. makemedie

makemedie OT Supporter

I've never done detailing before, ever. After lurking around and reading several guides and visiting detailing forums etc, I went out and purchased -

Meguiars NXT Car Wash
    Meguiars Deep Crystal Paint Cleaner
    Meguiars Deep Crystal Polish
    Meguiars Gold Class Wax

Invested into that stuff, got home, and decided I'd try it out on my mother's car. Spent 4 hours, by hand, fixing her up, and.. well, I'm too disappointed to even take pictures. Sure there's a bit of shine, but not that much of a difference from a regular hose-down + wipe.

I'm pretty disappointed, however, I have a feeling a lot of it has to do with the fact that I dont have any hand-held rotaries or that other recommended machine called the UDM. I was thinking of purchasing a UDM, and some scrap doors from the junkyard just to practice. Ya'll think it'd be worth it? Would that actually make as much of a difference as I think it will?

Cheers.

2. JRock10

JRock10 Active Member

yeah, it will. and you don't have to get junk panels with a DA polisher. just practice on what you have. also, check into some of the online stores. many of those products will yield better results than what you have already purchased.

3. makemedie

makemedie OT Supporter

I was under the impression that Meguiars makes some of the best?

What's a "DA polisher"? Are UDMs easier to use than those rotaries?

4. Scottwax

Scottwax Making detailing great again! Moderator

How exactly did you use the polishes? Did you wipe them on like a wax or did you work them into the paint like described in the swirl removal by hand sticky?

Obviously, Meguiars retail level line isn't going to give as good results as using Meguiars professional products with a buffer.