pressed F6 AHCI drivers, win setup canceled, help!

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by cleverest, Sep 22, 2007.

  1. cleverest

    cleverest 'Hell' is pagan nonsense

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2005
    Messages:
    4,185
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    New Vienna, OH
    my computer restarted while copying files during a windows installation, this is actually good because I forgot to hit F6 to load the AHCI SATA drivers from my floppy for the hard drives...

    After that I ran setup, hit F6 and it installed from my floppy....then locked up...probably because I hosed my other installation, so I restarted and formated the C drive to start off again on a clean slate....

    My question is, do I need to hit F6 again to install the drivers when I re-launch the windows setup or was it a one-time deal??

    Thanks for any help, can't find this question/answer anywhere else, maybe 'cause it's retarded.... :hs:
     
  2. P07r0457

    P07r0457 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2004
    Messages:
    28,491
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Southern Oregon
    you need to press f6 any time you enter TEXT-mode install.
     
  3. cleverest

    cleverest 'Hell' is pagan nonsense

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2005
    Messages:
    4,185
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    New Vienna, OH
    TEXT-mode? I'm installing it via booting from the CD
     
  4. P07r0457

    P07r0457 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2004
    Messages:
    28,491
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Southern Oregon
    yes, and it starts with a TEXT mode, and then reboots to GUI mode.
     
  5. cleverest

    cleverest 'Hell' is pagan nonsense

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2005
    Messages:
    4,185
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    New Vienna, OH
    Ahh I see...I've just never heard that description for it before....made me think of the DOS days. Thanks.
     

Share This Page