"Pre-assembled" CPU?

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by beez, Apr 30, 2005.

  1. beez

    beez New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2004
    Messages:
    19,143
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Queens
    I'm in the market for a new CPU right now. My mobo can handle an AMD Athlon 3000+ at most, so I'm planning on getting that. What I'm curious about are retailers who will sell a CPU with the paste/shim/heatsink/fan already attached. I know how to do it myself but I'd rather just spend an extra few dollars and not bother with it. Does anyone do this? Most of the sites I've seen on pricewatch don't offer "pre-assembled" CPUs like this.
     
  2. Diggumz

    Diggumz Devin da dude

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2005
    Messages:
    1,829
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    PA
    Never heard of it, and I don't think that they do it. Seems like it'd be an easy way to have a cracked core on arival.
     
  3. 01000101

    01000101 New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2003
    Messages:
    642
    Likes Received:
    0
    why would you want that? it takes 20 seconds to put on the heatsink/fan. just get one with the little spat of waxy crap on the bottom of the heatsink and you dont have to screw with thermal compound
     
  4. beez

    beez New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2004
    Messages:
    19,143
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Queens
    Because I didn't want to bother with even that much effort if I could pay someone else to do it :).
     
  5. beez

    beez New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2004
    Messages:
    19,143
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Queens
    I figured it would probably have to be packaged extra-carefully. I suppose I'll have to do it myself!
     
  6. Spaawn7

    Spaawn7 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2005
    Messages:
    83
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    N. California
    Just buy a dell. jk.....HAHAHA
     
  7. P07r0457

    P07r0457 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2004
    Messages:
    28,491
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Southern Oregon
    do *NOT* buy anything with a shim.
     
  8. 01000101

    01000101 New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2003
    Messages:
    642
    Likes Received:
    0
    why not?
     
  9. P07r0457

    P07r0457 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2004
    Messages:
    28,491
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Southern Oregon
    because they do not help at all, and they often cause problems. The copper/aluminum ones are conductive, and that's especially problematic on the Athlon's due to exposed resistor arrays. If the shim shifts, it will short out. You also risk cracking your die. Not to mention if the thickness is not PERFECT for that unique chip, then you will have a non-ideal cooling scenario.

    There are ZERO benefits to a shim, yet there are so many disadvantages... Why would you even want to do this?
     
  10. 01000101

    01000101 New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2003
    Messages:
    642
    Likes Received:
    0
    to be honest, i hadnt thought about it. thermal paste it is.
     

Share This Page