Powerbook... F'ed in the A

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by itwasntme, Jan 22, 2007.

  1. itwasntme

    itwasntme New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2006
    Messages:
    503
    Likes Received:
    0
    I loaded a dvd FULL of music in my drive (4.4 gig) and selected all 368 folders. Drug them to my music folder and kicked back for the 12 minute wait.

    I decided to take a peek in the mudvayne folder to see what all was in it, BUT... BUT!...... BUT!... I didn't remember to de-select the goddamn folders before I double clicked!

    I GOT F'ed in the A! 368 finder windows! :fawk:

    Just sharing my pain. :rofl: Don't do that.


    [​IMG]
     
  2. fixthe fernback

    fixthe fernback New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2006
    Messages:
    19,317
    Likes Received:
    0
    You could hold command and press "W" 386 times... much easier than finding all of the red circles with the mouse.
     
  3. itwasntme

    itwasntme New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2006
    Messages:
    503
    Likes Received:
    0
    I was copying so I had to be careful.

    I used the command key and the windows wouldn't close. Had to do it the hard way.

    I'm recovering from my dumbass move yesterday with the "sync checked items only" move. This will be another 2100 songs on this copy, so I didn't wanna screw it up



    [​IMG]
     
    Last edited: Jan 22, 2007
  4. Pseudonym

    Pseudonym --

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2006
    Messages:
    2,406
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Canada
    i did that the other day, kindof. I had a folder of .dmgs that i had backed up. and i accidentally opened them all. All of them mounted, and their various installation or drag-and-drop windows popped up. there was only like 20 of them, so i lol'd.
     
  5. itwasntme

    itwasntme New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2006
    Messages:
    503
    Likes Received:
    0
    It pisses me off that you buy an 80g pod and only get 74g.

    *random thought*
     
  6. itwasntme

    itwasntme New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2006
    Messages:
    503
    Likes Received:
    0
    yep, and it still pisses me off ;)

    That's why I primarily use flash drives. HD's suck in a million ways.

    I can toss my 5th gen silver 2g nano down the steps and go pick it up still playing, but if I drop the 80g I'm likely screwed.
     
  7. fixthe fernback

    fixthe fernback New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2006
    Messages:
    19,317
    Likes Received:
    0
    Flash drives have the same space discrepency. 2GB Nano has about 1.85GB, amirite?
     
  8. xenon supra

    xenon supra OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2005
    Messages:
    33,675
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    San Diego, CA
    :hsugh:
     
  9. IcyHot4Life

    IcyHot4Life Str8 Ballin'

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2002
    Messages:
    18,151
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Inquire Within
    option-apple-w > apple-w 386 times :embd:
     
  10. fixthe fernback

    fixthe fernback New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2006
    Messages:
    19,317
    Likes Received:
    0
    I thought I tried that and it didn't work...
     
  11. itwasntme

    itwasntme New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2006
    Messages:
    503
    Likes Received:
    0
    I dunno, but I can drop kick it.

    /point.

    :)
     
  12. TheManLouisianaFace

    TheManLouisianaFace and decide!

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2004
    Messages:
    32,995
    Likes Received:
    0
    Yeah, filesystem overhead loss. Has nothing to do with the media. Flash drives use FAT32 typically.
     
  13. Pseudonym

    Pseudonym --

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2006
    Messages:
    2,406
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Canada
    hahah. itwasntme, i bet you wish you knew this before.
     
  14. itwasntme

    itwasntme New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2006
    Messages:
    503
    Likes Received:
    0
    I'm running a bitchin' Logitech trackball that I have on all my computers. It's nothing for me to blaze through a few hundred windows. Now if this had happened and all I had was the touchpad........ I'd have waited for the transfer to finish and reboot.
     

Share This Page