power supply question

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by who?, Dec 15, 2004.

  1. who?

    who? Guest

    in continuation with this thread:
    http://forums.offtopic.com/showthread.php?t=1480829

    i've come to a conclusion that my power supply isnt strong enough.
    I'm a total newbie when it comes to power supplies, so what should i look for when upgrading my current power supply?
    From what i see on the power supply, it says "For Pentium IV only" and another sticker that says "3V"
     
  2. P07r0457

    P07r0457 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2004
    Messages:
    28,491
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Southern Oregon
    get a sparkle unit. A 480W+ unit is around $70.
     
  3. who?

    who? Guest

    oops, the sticker says 300W, not 3v
    i was browsing computer parts websites and i see 300w is pretty much the lowest...

    jollyogre, do i actually need 480w? my system isnt top of the line or anything, just a p4- 1.6ghz etc etc, im no hardcore gamer...
     
  4. Roadhog

    Roadhog New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2004
    Messages:
    246
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Montana
  5. P07r0457

    P07r0457 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2004
    Messages:
    28,491
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Southern Oregon
    the butterfly didn't benchtest too well. Although I find that typical of Thermaltake products.

    stick with what works : sparkle, fortron, enermax, PCP&C.
     
  6. Roadhog

    Roadhog New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2004
    Messages:
    246
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Montana
    Antec makes nice PSU's but i dunno what you wana spend on one
     
  7. Goonigoogoo

    Goonigoogoo Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2004
    Messages:
    14,765
    Likes Received:
    0
    I read both your posts and i'm a tad confused. First off if you're harboring an ole plain of the mill machine with your standard HDD, video card, cd-rom, floppy, 3 fans at most a 300W power supply should be sufficient.

    Now, power supplies have failed, so if yours is a generic one + age + heat + dust then maybe yes it is failing, but even if you go out and buy another 300W (name brand) power supply you should be good to go.

    Antec, Thermaltake and a few others build reliable power supplies and if you want to be on the safe side go for a 400W one. Even a good name brand 350 will do, granted you just have the hardware i mentionned above, if you have 6 fans, all IDE's full, all PCI's full then maybe a 300W isn't for you.
     
  8. who?

    who? Guest

    ^
    my power supply isnt failing, 300W just isnt enough juice for my system + my new vid card, it keeps rebooting my machine because of that.
    So now i'm looking into a power supply over 300W, but i dont need anyhting too fancy.
     
  9. Roadhog

    Roadhog New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2004
    Messages:
    246
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Montana
    what are the voltages showing up as?
     
  10. spiko

    spiko OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2004
    Messages:
    32,212
    Likes Received:
    10
    Location:
    Cleveland, OH
    if your going to get a new power supply, you might as well get a new case, it wont even be that expensive.
     
  11. lowfat

    lowfat 24/Mac/SciFi/PC Crew OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2003
    Messages:
    63,949
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Grande Prairie, AB, Can
  12. lowfat

    lowfat 24/Mac/SciFi/PC Crew OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2003
    Messages:
    63,949
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Grande Prairie, AB, Can
    i dont see why he would want to do that? if you mean buy a case than comes with a PSU, i would say hell no. those things are cheap and garbage. even antec doesn't make PSU's that are all that great anymore.
     
  13. P07r0457

    P07r0457 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2004
    Messages:
    28,491
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Southern Oregon
    a vast majority of cases with psu's are crap.. However, I've seen several (I stock 2 models) that come with sparkle psu's. those are a great value.
     
  14. lowfat

    lowfat 24/Mac/SciFi/PC Crew OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2003
    Messages:
    63,949
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Grande Prairie, AB, Can
    would either of those be touch? i've opened up two of these this week and both had sparkle PSU's. i was quite impressed.
     
  15. P07r0457

    P07r0457 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2004
    Messages:
    28,491
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Southern Oregon
    no, I don't believe either is made by "touch". Although now I'll go check out that company, because I love the cases that come with sparkle psus!

    The two that i was refering to are both microatx, one is the ASC-100, and the other is made by CaseEdge.
     

Share This Page