Power Supply-how many watts?

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by TexasStateGuy, Aug 22, 2004.

  1. TexasStateGuy

    TexasStateGuy New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2004
    Messages:
    28
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Texas
    How do you know how many watts you need to get when choosing a power supply? It seems to me that a 350W will power a computer easy with 2 hard drives and 2 optical drives, but for what instance do you need the bigger ones like the 450's and 600's?
     
  2. ZetecRacing

    ZetecRacing New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2004
    Messages:
    340
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Louisville, Ky
    Never go cheap on a PSU. I would recomend at the very least a 450W PSU. if you are building an Intel system with a Prescott in it go bigger Prescott's can use up over 100watts by themself. if I can find the list of what things use what I will post it up here.
     
  3. ZetecRacing

    ZetecRacing New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2004
    Messages:
    340
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Louisville, Ky
    AMD 64 - 25W-75W
    AMD Athlon XP - 60W-72W
    AMD Athlon XP Tbred - 50W-75W
    AMD Duron 1.0-1.3Ghz - 50W-55W

    Intel P3 800-1.4Ghz - 25W-40W
    Intel P4 1.4-20Ghz - 55W-75W
    Intel P4 Northwood - 55W-70W
    Intel P4 3.06Ghz+ - 75W
    Intel Celeron FC-PGA/FC-PGA2 - 25W-35W
    Intel Celeron Skt. 478 - 45W-55W
    ATX Motherboard - 40W-65W
    AGP Video Card - 30W-70W
    PCI Video Card - 20W-35W
    256MB RAM - 20W
    512MB RAM - 35W
    IDE CD-RW Drive - 25W-35W
    SCSI CD-RW Drive - 20W-25W
    IDE CD-Rom - 20W-30W
    SCSI CD-Rom - 15W-20W
    IDE DVD-Rom - 20W-25W
    IDE Hard Drive - 15W-20W
    SCSI Hard Drive - 15W-25W
    15,000 RPM SCSI Hard Drive - 35W
    Floppy Drive - 8W
    Network Card - 5W
    Modem - 5W
    Sound Card - 5W-10W
    SCSI Controller Card - 20W
    FireWire Controller Card - 30W-40W
    USB 2.0 Controller Card - 5W-20W
    Case Fan - 3W
    CPU Fan - 3W


    here is a small list I found hope it helps you some.
     
  4. 1997 CL 3.0

    1997 CL 3.0 OG since 00

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2000
    Messages:
    265
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Vancouver, Canada
    Don't forget that amperage is also important on a powersupply, over on Xoxide they have a 400W psu for like $6 on sale but it only pushes 12A on the 12V+ Rail. Whereas my OCZ Powerstream 520W and even the 470W version have 33A on the 12V+ Rail, keep this in mind as more powerful Cpu's draw upon the 12V+ Rail. Also in the original documentation for the new Geforce 6800 cards it's recomended to have at least 450 W on a powersupply
     
  5. TexasStateGuy

    TexasStateGuy New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2004
    Messages:
    28
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Texas
    So what happens if you don't have enough of a power supply? Does the computer shut down at random times, or not start up at all?
     
  6. 1997 CL 3.0

    1997 CL 3.0 OG since 00

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2000
    Messages:
    265
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Vancouver, Canada
    Depends, you might get crashes under load when everything is being pushed. Also cheaper quality supplies might not provide thier rated amount of power once they heat up beyond a certain point.
     
  7. DAN513

    DAN513 OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2003
    Messages:
    10,089
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    204
  8. ZetecRacing

    ZetecRacing New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2004
    Messages:
    340
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Louisville, Ky
    you can pop one of the capicators in the PSU which can be a really bad thing, cause the remaining caps can discharge though the computer which could result in a dead computer.
     
  9. ZetecRacing

    ZetecRacing New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2004
    Messages:
    340
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Louisville, Ky
  10. Jerboy

    Jerboy Guest

    If it's cheap, then you get crap. Antec Smartpower 300W is adequate for most systems. There's a good reason it costs about $50 when you can pickup a generic "500W" for $20.

    I just compared two 400W power supplies and you can just see how different they can be made My page
     
  11. toekneedahtiger

    toekneedahtiger New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2003
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    San Diego
    I actually had an experience like this on my old computer with a cheap 300W power supply that had lasted me the last few years without a problem. Unfortunately, when I installed an ATI 9800 Pro on my computer I guess it started to draw too much power and my computer unexpectedly shut off while I was playing Doom 3. My computer would not turn on but the cpu fan and case fan would still be running at full blast. I took off the side of my case with everything still running, and that's when I saw smoke pouring out of my DVD-ROM and CPU. The only surviving pieces from my old computer are the CD-RW and SB Live 5.1 sound card. Needless to say I had a new reason to upgrade my computer, but this time I sprung for an Enermax power supply which I haven't had any problems with so far. *Knock on wood*
     
  12. ZetecRacing

    ZetecRacing New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2004
    Messages:
    340
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Louisville, Ky
    I have killed an Antec True power 380w :sadwavey: everything else in the system was fine though.... thank god.
     
  13. Aimless

    Aimless Resident drunkey

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2001
    Messages:
    2,534
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Wisconsin
    Antec TruePower430 biiiiiaaaatch
     
  14. TexasStateGuy

    TexasStateGuy New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2004
    Messages:
    28
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Texas
    Thanks guys I appreciate it.
     

Share This Page