Power Mac 2.3Ghz Power Supply Cable is weird. PICS!

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by kmad86, Jun 2, 2008.

  1. kmad86

    kmad86 Swine Epidemic Survival Crew '09 OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2003
    Messages:
    15,291
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Ft. Smith, AR
    I acquired a supposedly non working Power Mac 2.3Ghz. Well, I don't have a cable to plug up to it because of its weird shape. Check pics below. Where can I get this cable at? I searched ebay I couldn't find anything.


    [​IMG]
     
  2. kmad86

    kmad86 Swine Epidemic Survival Crew '09 OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2003
    Messages:
    15,291
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Ft. Smith, AR
    Also, how do I tell if this thing has an Airport Card internally?
     
  3. Pineapple Devil

    Pineapple Devil beat it!

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2001
    Messages:
    53,752
    Likes Received:
    8
    apple store maybe
     
  4. kmad86

    kmad86 Swine Epidemic Survival Crew '09 OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2003
    Messages:
    15,291
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Ft. Smith, AR
    I am in Arkansas. Ha, I wish it were that easy.
     
  5. Pineapple Devil

    Pineapple Devil beat it!

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2001
    Messages:
    53,752
    Likes Received:
    8
    apple.com
    1-800-my-apple


    or do you not have phones in arkansas?
     
  6. kmad86

    kmad86 Swine Epidemic Survival Crew '09 OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2003
    Messages:
    15,291
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Ft. Smith, AR
    No, US Postal Service FTW... Apple doesn't have mail order so I have to stick with JC Pennys and Mail Order Brides.


    Seriously though, I was hoping to find a power cable through a direct link without having to email or call those guys. I looked through their site and couldn't find the cable.
     
  7. Ant

    Ant Serious Business.

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2005
    Messages:
    219
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Tampa
    looks like a euro plug
     
  8. Pineapple Devil

    Pineapple Devil beat it!

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2001
    Messages:
    53,752
    Likes Received:
    8
  9. kmad86

    kmad86 Swine Epidemic Survival Crew '09 OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2003
    Messages:
    15,291
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Ft. Smith, AR
    350.00 I don't think anything is wrong with it. It was an office machine and the guy pulled everything out thinking that people could get his info. Yeah, he even took out the video card. Its missing: Video Card, Hard Drive, and Ram.
     
  10. jackback52

    jackback52 Guest

    www.macsales.com

    they have the video cards for that model of power mac.
     
  11. Pineapple Devil

    Pineapple Devil beat it!

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2001
    Messages:
    53,752
    Likes Received:
    8
    yeah i would have bought it too
     
  12. Devoidarex

    Devoidarex Rexversusu v.2.0

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2004
    Messages:
    10,774
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Pacific South-West
    Check under 'about this mac' under the apple icon (top left) to check airport status.
     
  13. DeepRun™

    DeepRun™ Guest

    He would need a HD, RAM and vid card first.

    Open the panel and look for a credit card sized card slipped in towards the front of the case just above the dual fan unit.
     
  14. BlueJeans

    BlueJeans Money For Nothing

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2004
    Messages:
    2,486
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Out There
    lol I shouldn't laugh but it's like buying a good used car. Except it has no engine, transmission or seats. Other than that it's just a peach. :)

    Good luck dude. Not yankin your chain. :)
     
  15. Pineapple Devil

    Pineapple Devil beat it!

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2001
    Messages:
    53,752
    Likes Received:
    8
    same exact thing if you could easily find a cheap drivetrain and you are familiar with putting them in.

    he could sell it on ebay for more than he paid for it
     
  16. DeepRun™

    DeepRun™ Guest

    I have a the same model. With 3.5Gb of RAM and an nVidia 6800 Ultra it runs as good as day one even with 10.5.3.
     
  17. kmad86

    kmad86 Swine Epidemic Survival Crew '09 OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2003
    Messages:
    15,291
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Ft. Smith, AR
    Ram is cheap, Video card decently cheap, Hard Drive Cheap... Its not like the processor (motor) was out of it.
     
  18. nsxrebel

    nsxrebel New Member

    Joined:
    May 22, 2006
    Messages:
    3,272
    Likes Received:
    0
    What a fucking dump Arkansas is, and I was in Little Rock too. Thank god it was only temporarily.
     
  19. kmad86

    kmad86 Swine Epidemic Survival Crew '09 OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2003
    Messages:
    15,291
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Ft. Smith, AR
    I think the parts are worth some money. It is a Dual Core 2.3 Dual Processor.
     
  20. IcyHot4Life

    IcyHot4Life Str8 Ballin'

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2002
    Messages:
    18,151
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Inquire Within
    if it works, that's a good buy... even if it doesn't you could probably flip it on ebay for what you paid :bigthumb:

    It does look like a european plug style or something :dunno: make SURE you check for a 110/230V switch before you power that fucker on. That might just be what's "wrong" with it, in fact :cool:
     

Share This Page