Potential New Mac User...

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by Element, Mar 29, 2007.

1. Element

Element OT Supporter

Okay so I have always been a PC user and I recently purchased a new Vista based Laptop, however I returned it asI couldn't get the majority of my programs to work correctly and I hated the interface, and how it slowed down the computer.

A PC is not absolutely necessary for me. I am looking for something that is light weight, powerful, and has a decent battery life. I have NEVER used a mac before, except back in the Apple IIe days.

Now I do have a few questions:

1) Are there good torrent sites out there for mac based software?

2) I do a lot of work processing and powerpoint presentations. I'm assuming I could "purchase" Office for mac and use it correct?

3) With leopard around the corner should I wait to purchase a mac?

4) I am considering just the regular Macbook and not the Macbook Pro, as I do not necessarily need a dedicated video card. Is the MBP woth the extra $$$?

Thanks!

Last edited: Mar 29, 2007
  2. integraMAHxC

integraMAHxC New Member

1) theres a few torrents available.. dont know of any sites dedicated to mac software

2) office for mac works fine.. new version is comin though, and wont b quite a pile of shit

3) wait for leopard and hopefully a product revision

4) im having the same problem, i love the black macbook, and i dont play games.. but i dont wanna shoot myself in the foot by not gettin the pro.. so im waitin 2 see w/ leopard and a product revision maybe the macbooks will get dedicated graphics like the ibooks.. love/hate relationship w/ apple.. awesome product, but for the money i dont wanna feel skimped..

3. Lord~Jerningham

Lord~Jerningham New Member

1) there is a decent selection of torrents out there, I haven't had any trouble finding what I need. Supposedly Oink has a good selection, if you can get yourself an invite to it.