MIL Post your questions about flying for the Air Force in here...

Discussion in 'On Topic' started by SweetDaddyO, Aug 16, 2005.

1. SweetDaddyO

SweetDaddyO we need a montage!!

and i'll probably be able to give you a decent answer.

i'm a rated Air Force Navigator who just completed JSUNT (Joint Specialized Undergraduate Navigator Training), as well as the Electronic Warfare School.

i was a AFROTC grad, so i've experienced everything from the selection process for nav/pilot, to the training pipeline for strike navigators down in Pensacola, as well as the EWO school at Randolph AFB (I'm also familiar with the new CSO program if you've heard of that). I'm leaving next month to fly B-1Bs out of Dyess AFB.

i have plenty of friends who are pilots, so i can get your UPT answers as well, and since the training here at P-Cola is joint, i have a good understanding of Navy and Marine Corps flight training as well.

please note that my answers and advice do not speak for the Air Force - i will always try to give you good info and if i can't, i'll either let you know or redirect your question to someone in the know.

so with that said, any questions?

2. TylerTX

TylerTX :noes:

how loud is it in a B1 on full afterburner for the pilot? Also, for a f/18 or similar.

3. SweetDaddyO

not that loud, considering the pilots wear helmets and the engines are mounted well aft of them. everyone's connected via intercom as well, so hearing the bells and whistles, as well as the other crewmembers, isn't usually a problem.

quick edit - on the ground is a different story. B-1s are one of the loudest aircraft we have, even without afterburner. in iraq and afghanistan, they sometimes use B-1s flying at very low levels in full afterburner to get rowdy crowds and protesters to disperse. it's a non-violent way to control crowds, and it would put the fear of god into anyone who happened to be standing there.

Last edited: Aug 16, 2005
  4. SupraTFassa

SupraTFassa New Member