post your home network - aka geek out v.xxx

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by johnnywallywallace, Dec 29, 2003.

  1. Astro

    Astro Code Monkey

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2000
    Messages:
    2,047
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Cleveland Ohio
    Sorry, no time for pretty graphs...

    cable modem
    |
    4 port router w/WAP <-- wireless --> notebook
    |`------------------- various PC gear - ports available
    5 port 10/100mbs switch
    |`------------------- various PC gear - hub maxed
    5 port 10/100mbs hub
    |`------------------- various PC gear - hub maxed
    8 port 10mbs hub with BNC connector
    `------------------- various 10mbs PC gear or PC gear not worthy of 100mbs or kick it old school with coax

    8 port AUI hub and cable in closet. In theory, I could put this on the network as well, but the hub is HUGE.

    Various PCs have various roles - TV watching, coding, printing, sensing, serving, etc.
     
  2. that's the direction I plan to be headed in next :) maybe a combo TV watching/video editing station ... media server ... x11 ... CAD machine ... etc. etc. etc.
     
  3. unrealii

    unrealii professor of plant biology

    Joined:
    May 6, 2001
    Messages:
    2,037
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    So CALI
    time warner cable modem
    |
    Netgear rt314
    |
    3 PC's, 1 HP JetDirect print server
    |
    (win98se * 2, 1 XP), HP LaserJet 5L, Epson Stylus Photo700
     
  4. DatacomGuy

    DatacomGuy is moving to Canada

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2002
    Messages:
    16,546
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Tampa, FL
    I Drew this REALLLLL quickly in MS Paint. :rofl:

    [​IMG]
     
  5. :scratch:

    hrmmm where have I seen THAT before? :fawk:
     
  6. DatacomGuy

    DatacomGuy is moving to Canada

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2002
    Messages:
    16,546
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Tampa, FL
    :rofl::dunno:?
     
  7. Penguin Man

    Penguin Man Protect Your Digital Liberties

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2002
    Messages:
    21,696
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Edmonton, AB
    Ugly crowded diagram of mine:
    [​IMG]
     
  8. Little Spunky $#!T

    Little Spunky $#!T :cool:

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2001
    Messages:
    3,539
    Likes Received:
    0
    Your not a Microsoft fan are you :hs:
     
  9. Little Spunky $#!T

    Little Spunky $#!T :cool:

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2001
    Messages:
    3,539
    Likes Received:
    0
    I don't have most of the Office 2003 installed so I'll just list it:

    Satellite ----> Satellite Internet Receiver -----> Linksys Wireless G Router (4port):
    • AMD 2200+/XP Pro (my computer)
    • Older Gateway model (family pc)
    • [soon to be] 800mhz comp with SuSE 9.0 (installing SuSE on it this week)
    • [Wireless G] to Dell Laptop
     
  10. CyberBullets

    CyberBullets I reach to the sky, and call out your name. If I c

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2001
    Messages:
    11,865
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    BC, Canada/Stockholm, Sweden
    my boring home network...

    shaw internet
    |
    router (linksys router)
    |-- Celeron 300a (450Mhz): Windows 2000 SP4 (192.168.1.100)
    |-- AMD Athlon XP 1800+ (1533Mhz): Windows XP SP1 (192.168.1.101) (DMZ)

    But then my AMD Athlon does my webhosting, mysql, vnc and cvs....
     
  11. CompiledMonkey

    CompiledMonkey New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2001
    Messages:
    8,528
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Richmond, VA
    Mine is quite basic, but I have an extra switch and two machines lying around I could put to use. I need to sit down and decide how I want to set it up though. I don't know what I could even do with my old 180MHz box. I don't need a web server...

    Comcast Internet
    |
    Linksys 802.11b Router
    |-- Dell Inspiron 4150: 1.7GHz P4-M, WinXP Pro
    |-- Compaq: 750MHz Duron, WinXP Pro (Family machine)
     
  12. Orgazmo

    Orgazmo Guest

    The PC's...

    #1

    Windows XP Professional SP1
    AMD Athlon 64 FX-51 2.2ghz w/CoolerMaster CPU Heatsink/Fan
    1GB Corsair XMS TwinX PC3200 DDR400 Matched Pair Registered ECC
    Gigabyte K8NNXP-940 nForce 3 150 Pro motherboard
    Gigabyte Radeon 9800 Pro 256MB
    2 x WD Raptor 36.8GB 10,000 rpm, 8mb cache, SATA RAID 0
    Lite-On 52X CDRW Drive
    CoolerMaster WaveMaster Aluminum Case
    Enermax 550 watt Power Supply
    CoolerMaster Rounded cables

    #2

    Windows XP Professional SP1
    AMD Athlon XP 2800+ w/OEM HS/F
    1GB Mushkin High Perf PC2700 DDR 333
    MSI K7N-2G nForce 2 Ultra Motherboard
    ATI All-In-Wonder Radeon 9700 Pro 128MB
    2 x Seagate Barracuda 120GB 7200 rpm 8mb cache, SATA RAID 0
    Lite-On 52x CDRW
    Lite-On 16x DVD ROM
    Lian Li Black Aluminum Case
    Enermax 431 watt power supply

    Connected to a Linksys BEFW11S4 Wireless Router with Adelphia Power Link cable.

    I also plan to put an old Cyrix 120 powered PC with Windows 95 on it in the garage to use for scanning ODBII systems in cars.
     
  13. Penguin Man

    Penguin Man Protect Your Digital Liberties

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2002
    Messages:
    21,696
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Edmonton, AB
    Heh, all the Macs belong to my parents, but no I'm not. The Windows box is only there for my brother and for my dad's Quickbooks.
     
  14. Rob

    Rob OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2002
    Messages:
    88,612
    Likes Received:
    36
    Location:
    Atlanta, GA
    Teh Interweb<------>me

    :dunno: There is no room for my huge ass network setup in my dorm.
     
  15. Zourn

    Zourn 16-bit Ninja OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2002
    Messages:
    2,354
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Texas
    [​IMG]


    I know, I did it again, please forgive me.
     

Share This Page