A&P Post what kind of PC/MAC you are using for photo editing

Discussion in 'Lifestyle' started by 1200mk, Jun 16, 2008.

  1. 1200mk

    1200mk Still same OG

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2001
    Messages:
    16,889
    Likes Received:
    3
    I am currently running...

    p4 2.8mhz
    512mb ram
    8mb pci ati rage server card
    160gb 7200 rpm hdd
    17" hyundai lcd 6ms

    Boy do I need an upgrade! (I don't want to upgrade the memory since the old ddr ram is so expensive now.)

    What are you guys running? and are you satisfied with it?
     
  2. OlafBeserka

    OlafBeserka girls pee pee when they see me OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2005
    Messages:
    7,485
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Hella Bay Area
    intel c2d e4300 @ 3.4GHz
    2gb corsair xms2
    8800gt 512mb
    72gb raptor
    19" benq(waiting for the dell 24" to go on sale)

    Im not satisfied. Going to get a intel q6600 and that dell 24"
     
  3. MSTRBKR

    MSTRBKR New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2007
    Messages:
    7,584
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Cydonia
    Intel Core 2 Duo E6600 @ 2.4ghz
    3gb corsair xms2
    ATI X1950 Pro 256mb
    24" Samsung 245B

    Gonna be getting an 8800 GT some time before next academic year. Possibly a Q6600.


    It runs CS3 like a dream :love:

    I built it to run Pro Engineer for modelling and Alias Image Studio for rendering. Super smooooooooooooooooooth it is.
     
    Last edited: Jun 16, 2008
  4. nine

    nine OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2004
    Messages:
    16,287
    Likes Received:
    37
    Location:
    so. cal.
    intel pentium duo 1.6ghz
    2gb ram

    laptop
     
  5. DeepRun™

    DeepRun™ Guest

    PowerMac G5 dual 2.3Ghz
    3.5Gb RAM
    256Mb nVidia 6800 Ultra
    23" HD Apple Cinema Display
    OS X Leopard
     
  6. jared_IRL

    jared_IRL OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2006
    Messages:
    17,737
    Likes Received:
    55
    My home machine:

    Intel Core 2 Duo E6600 @ 2.4ghz
    4GB DDR2
    Quadro FX 1500
    20" cinema display
    2x WD velociraptor 300gb sata HD's.

    My work machine is a Mac Pro 8 core 3.2 xeon with 2 20" cinema displays.

    that thing is just stupid.

    XP
     
  7. tetsuo

    tetsuo And shepherds we shall be...

    Joined:
    May 6, 2004
    Messages:
    9,444
    Likes Received:
    0
    my desktop: (desperately needs an upgrade)
    amd opteron 165 (1.8ghz dual core)
    2 gigs of ram
    6800gt
    19" benq monitor

    my laptops (or works rather :o):
    macbook with core duo 2ghz
    1 gig of ram (soon will be 2 when a buddy upgrades his mbp to 4 gigs)

    gateway m285 tablet with a core2duo chip (don't remember the exact specs since i never use this anymore)
    1 gig of ram
     
  8. xenon supra

    xenon supra OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2005
    Messages:
    33,675
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    San Diego, CA
    mac pro
    3.0 ghz 8 cores
    5gb ram
    2x750 gb 7200rpm
    512 mb
    30" apple cinema display

    15' macbook pro
    2.0 ghz core duo
    2gb ram
    160gb 7200rpm
    128mb
     
  9. Jonny Chimpo

    Jonny Chimpo OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2003
    Messages:
    64,806
    Likes Received:
    383
    Location:
    The sweaty asshole of the universe
    iMac 20"
    2.1GHz G5
    1.5GB memeory
    250GB internal HDD
    120GB & 500GB WD MyBook external HDDs
    Wacom tablet
    PS CS2

    It's about at the end of its useful life, so I'm planning on retiring it by the end of the year. It can't really run Lightroom at all because it's dog ass slow. I'm probably going to replace it with the 24" 3GHz C2D iMac, unless I can talk myself into a Mac Pro.
     
  10. isaac86hatch

    isaac86hatch This thread sucks

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2005
    Messages:
    27,892
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Oregon
    MacBook
    Model Identifier: MacBook2,1
    Processor Name: Intel Core 2 Duo
    Processor Speed: 2 GHz
    Number Of Processors: 1
    Total Number Of Cores: 2
    L2 Cache: 4 MB
    Memory: 2 GB
    Bus Speed: 667 MHz
     
  11. ok_computer

    ok_computer OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2005
    Messages:
    15,615
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Edmonton, AB, Canada
    15 inch macbookpro
    2.4 GHz Core 2 Duo
    4GB RAM
    2 500GB externals
     
  12. wizeguy4

    wizeguy4 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2002
    Messages:
    2,454
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Allentown, PA
    a single core 1ghz peice of abortion shit with 1.5 gb RAM

    320gb internal HD and 500 gb external

    Some CRT from the Dollar General
     
  13. MSIGuy

    MSIGuy om nom nom nom!

    Joined:
    May 30, 2005
    Messages:
    4,724
    Likes Received:
    0
    Q6600 @ 3Ghz
    8GB ram
    6800GT (meh, I don't game much)
    Raptor 10k 150gb
    3x WD 500GB's
    1x WD 500GB Mybook backup drive.
     
  14. wizeguy4

    wizeguy4 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2002
    Messages:
    2,454
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Allentown, PA
    Is the Raptor the photoshop scratch drive?

    XPpro64?
     
  15. Kirk Hinrich

    Kirk Hinrich New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2004
    Messages:
    40,492
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Brown Line
    currently a 12 inch powerbook 1.5 ghz 1.25gigs of ram:wtc:
    should be a 2.4ghz 15 inch MBP by the end of the week :x:
     
  16. MSIGuy

    MSIGuy om nom nom nom!

    Joined:
    May 30, 2005
    Messages:
    4,724
    Likes Received:
    0
    Ummm.... no? Should it be? I suppose I haven't looked too much into it. It's my main system drive though.
    Vista 64. Everyone always gripes about Vista, but I really don't see any problem with it. It's served me fine. :dunno:
     
  17. Girth

    Girth ¯\_(ツ)_/¯ OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2002
    Messages:
    71,429
    Likes Received:
    109
    Location:
    Houston
    Mac Pro
    2 x 2.8 GHz Quad-Core Intel Xeon
    6 GB 667 MHz DDR2 RAM
    320GB Internal HD
    500GB External HD

    OSX, Lightroom, CS3
     
  18. adamlewis88

    adamlewis88 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2007
    Messages:
    5,392
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    San Francisco, CA
    3.4GHz P4 HT
    1.5GB RAM

    Its slow :hs:
     
  19. Girth

    Girth ¯\_(ツ)_/¯ OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2002
    Messages:
    71,429
    Likes Received:
    109
    Location:
    Houston
    I went from P3 and 1GB of RAM to my Mac... imagine my excitement. :o
     
  20. alexromo

    alexromo New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2005
    Messages:
    4,571
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Wahiawa
    dell optiplex gx260

    its enough to get by
     
  21. adamlewis88

    adamlewis88 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2007
    Messages:
    5,392
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    San Francisco, CA

    It takes like 20 seconds to convert a CR2->JPG in DPP :wtc:
     
  22. wizeguy4

    wizeguy4 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2002
    Messages:
    2,454
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Allentown, PA

    not sure - that is why I asked. I know that the Raptor is 10K vs the 7.2K of the other drives and I know that saving and opening files would be faster if a drive that is 30% faster is used
     
  23. Girth

    Girth ¯\_(ツ)_/¯ OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2002
    Messages:
    71,429
    Likes Received:
    109
    Location:
    Houston
    if I opened Capture NX and CS2 at the same time, I might as well have reset the computer... it was instant overload. Now, I can have CS3, LR, Safari, iTunes, open AND be importing 7000+ pictures into LR w/ out the computer budging. How do I know...? I tried it. :big grin:
     
  24. adamlewis88

    adamlewis88 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2007
    Messages:
    5,392
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    San Francisco, CA
    [/jearous]
     
  25. MSIGuy

    MSIGuy om nom nom nom!

    Joined:
    May 30, 2005
    Messages:
    4,724
    Likes Received:
    0
    You know, I got the 10k mainly because it was on sale at Best Buy. I had my system drive fail one day, and needed a new one that day. I saw the 10k and figured, "What the hell?"

    Honestly, I haven't seen that much improvement over 7200 drives. It's a few seconds faster transferring files but nothing earth shattering. But then again, with this system I'm used to things being pretty fast, so it's possible it's fast and I'm just used to it.
     

Share This Page