GUN Possible stupid question alert.

Discussion in 'On Topic' started by Navvik, Jun 20, 2008.

1. Navvik

Navvik Active Member

I'm a noob. Of all of the manufacturers of the 1911 .45ACP style, what is the major difference between them aside from price?

2. Quality, features, warranties, materials, etc...

Not a stupid question, just far too broad to answer well. Is there a specific comparison you're looking to make?

3. Navvik

Navvik Active Member

Yes actually. Springfield Armory 1911, taurus' PT1911, and one i recently saw and STI Spartan. I'm not looking to get a rickety peice of shit that'll blow my arm off, but at the same time i'm not loong to get the rolls royce of 1911's which i kinda feel that springfield armory is. But then again what the hell do i know about guns. :noes:

4. TL1000RSquid

TL1000RSquid ΜΟΛΩΝ ΛΑΒΕ

Either of the 3 you mention are good, some people knock the taurus but it isn't a bad gun. STI has a couple models I really like that I'd probably get if I were in the market for another 1911.

5. I think the majority here would agree that the Springfield 1911s are superior to the Taurus versions. I don't have any personal experience with either, so that's just the feeling I get. I have shot other Tauruses before and I've not been left impressed by them. If you're just looking to put holes in paper at the range, I'm sure the Taurus would be fine though. I have a STI Spartan, and I'm shooting my first IDPA match with it tomorrow. So far, I'm really happy with it. The fit of the parts is great, the barrel to slide and slide to frame fit are very tight, and I can't budge them by hand. For the same price as the Taurus, the STI gives you the quality of much more expensive 1911s.

6. Navvik

Navvik Active Member