Possible spyware

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by y1997, Jun 28, 2007.

  1. y1997

    y1997 Made in the U.S.S.R.

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2006
    Messages:
    6,065
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Detroit
    This is my first post in here, but I really need some of your guys' help. Recently my computer started to act up, and I started receiving pop ups and my computer started to run slower than normal, with the cpu usage jumping up to 54% periodically. I know it must me a tracking cookie or some type of spyware but I have Norton Internet Security 2007 and whenever I run a scan it finds a cookie and gets rid of it. The tracking cookie always comes back. I really dont know what to do since my dell service subscription has expired and I really have no one to turn to. If any of you guys can help out/give me any suggestions I would greatly appreciate it.
     
  2. cmsurfer

    cmsurfer ºllllllº

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2003
    Messages:
    5,079
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    NJ
    Run a spyware scan
    Check add/remove programs for anything you don't recognize and uninstall it.
     
  3. Doc Brown

    Doc Brown Don't make me make you my hobby

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2006
    Messages:
    16,404
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Ohio
    Is The NIS a suite? antivirus, antispyware, etc?

    If so, you may need to run the scans in safemode.

    And you might even have to turn off system restore. It's possible to have malware get backed up into system restore where antivirus/antispyware scans can't remove it.
     
  4. y1997

    y1997 Made in the U.S.S.R.

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2006
    Messages:
    6,065
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Detroit
    Yeah I have the full package, antivirus/antispyware/etc.

    How do I turn off system restore?

    Also how can I run the scans in safemode?

    Sorry guys, I know only the most basic things about computers. I'm not a complete novice but when it comes to things like this its a different story.
     
  5. Doc Brown

    Doc Brown Don't make me make you my hobby

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2006
    Messages:
    16,404
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Ohio

    Hit F8 during startup at the post screen.

    Only turn off system restore if the scans don't work in safe mode.
    Start > All programs > Accessories > System Tools > System restore
     
  6. deusexaethera

    deusexaethera OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2005
    Messages:
    19,712
    Likes Received:
    0
    Oh lord. Cookies don't cause your computer to bog down, all they do is store serial numbers so websites know that you visited them before. Remove Norton Internet Security and install either Symantec Antivirus Corporate or AVG Free Edition.

    Don't disable System Restore until you know that you have spyware and you're pretty sure it's using System Restore to reinstall itself after you remove it. System Restore is a useful unfuckup tool, you want to keep it running as long as possible.
     
  7. P07r0457

    P07r0457 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2004
    Messages:
    28,491
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Southern Oregon
    DISABLE system restore.
     
  8. deusexaethera

    deusexaethera OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2005
    Messages:
    19,712
    Likes Received:
    0
    Not until he needs to. If he turns it off before he has no other option and then he fucks something up, he'll be up shit creek.

    Besides, you know damn well it's just NIS that's causing his problem.
     
  9. P07r0457

    P07r0457 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2004
    Messages:
    28,491
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Southern Oregon
    Sys Restore is gonna fuck up since he had NIS. He needs to DISABLE IT and forget about any restore points
     
  10. deusexaethera

    deusexaethera OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2005
    Messages:
    19,712
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hmm. I didn't realize NIS "interfaced" with System Restore, though I guess I shouldn't be surprised. This is why I use Roxio GoBack on the workstations in my office, by the way; it operates outside of Windows and tracks every sector rewrite on the whole disk (instead of just certain files), so it can even recover from an "NTLDR Not Found" error. It's also not a huge target for malware.
     
  11. y1997

    y1997 Made in the U.S.S.R.

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2006
    Messages:
    6,065
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Detroit
    Alright, I'm going to try to run the scans in safe mode now, thanks guys.
     
  12. P07r0457

    P07r0457 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2004
    Messages:
    28,491
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Southern Oregon
    Roxio GoBack is a piece of crap, too. Avoid it.


    All of these products (including System Restore) will grab files used by these products and restores will be iffy. Probably won't even work, and if they do, it's not gonna give you a clean restore.
     
  13. deusexaethera

    deusexaethera OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2005
    Messages:
    19,712
    Likes Received:
    0
    Meh. I've been using GoBack on these workstations and servers for two years now, and it's been invaluable for restoring screwed-up software installations and configurations -- especially on testbed servers. I get more "No Operating System Found" errors than I used to see, but GoBack has always successfully recovered from those errors with no ill effects, so whether or not it somehow causes them is irrelevant to me, because it's also bailed my ass out of trouble any number of times when I'd check a checkbox somewhere and totally fuck up a machine and be unable to figure out how to undo it.
     
  14. P07r0457

    P07r0457 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2004
    Messages:
    28,491
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Southern Oregon
    pebkac?
     
  15. y1997

    y1997 Made in the U.S.S.R.

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2006
    Messages:
    6,065
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Detroit
    I scanned my computer in safe mode and it found 5 viruses/adwares on it and "fixed" them. I'm running in normal mode now and I'm still getting popups and the computer is still not running smooth. So should I try to turn off system restore and run the scan in safe mode again?

    Also, I've been monitoring my cpu usage and it spikes up to 50-60% on random intervals without any reason. In addition my autoprotect keeps on blocking random attempted intrusions from various Trojan viruses. This is fucking retarded.
     
  16. P07r0457

    P07r0457 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2004
    Messages:
    28,491
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Southern Oregon
    honestly, your system is fucked and it will NEVER run the way it should. Reformat, start fresh, and do things properly this time. The only way to go is to PREVENT them from ever installing. Once they're there, the war is lost.
     
  17. y1997

    y1997 Made in the U.S.S.R.

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2006
    Messages:
    6,065
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Detroit
    I figured that much. Thanks a lot anyway. Do any of you guys know how to save my internet bookmarks? Thats pretty much the only valuable thing I have on there.
     
  18. P07r0457

    P07r0457 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2004
    Messages:
    28,491
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Southern Oregon
    c:\documents and settings\username\Favorites
     
  19. Doc Brown

    Doc Brown Don't make me make you my hobby

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2006
    Messages:
    16,404
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Ohio
    Or he can right click favorites, select open, and drag them to the burner, or even a floppy disc.
     
  20. deusexaethera

    deusexaethera OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2005
    Messages:
    19,712
    Likes Received:
    0
    Eh, he might as well grab the whole "..\username" folder, just so he has it in case something in there proves to be useful once he reformats.
     
  21. Doc Brown

    Doc Brown Don't make me make you my hobby

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2006
    Messages:
    16,404
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Ohio
    That's probably not a bad idea. But that folder can be pretty big.

    Mine is more than 8gb.
     
  22. deusexaethera

    deusexaethera OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2005
    Messages:
    19,712
    Likes Received:
    0
    1. Start => Run => "cleanmgr.exe /sageset:50"

    2. Select all cleanup options except for Empty Recycle Bin and Compress Old Files. Click OK.

    3. Right-click on Desktop => New... => Shortcut.

    4. Enter the filename "cleanmgr.exe /sagerun:50", and give the shortcut the display name "Fast Disk Cleanup".

    5. Double-click the new shortcut and watch as the Disk Cleanup tool deletes all the crap on your computer WITHOUT having to run a lengthy pre-check first, because it doesn't bother to show you how much space you could save if you wanted to.
     
  23. Doc Brown

    Doc Brown Don't make me make you my hobby

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2006
    Messages:
    16,404
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Ohio
    Oh sure, he could always do it the easy way... :mamoru:
     
  24. y1997

    y1997 Made in the U.S.S.R.

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2006
    Messages:
    6,065
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Detroit
    My pictures and bookmarks are now on my memory card, so everything is alright. I have a few video files I would want to save but I'm not sure of a program that can convert avi files to DVD. I'll just google it or something.
     
  25. Doc Brown

    Doc Brown Don't make me make you my hobby

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2006
    Messages:
    16,404
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Ohio
    Just burn the avi files to cd.

    Practically all the avi dvd rips out there are sized to fit a cd anyway.
     

Share This Page