Pop-up blocker.

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by Ham Sammich, Jun 7, 2006.

  1. Ham Sammich

    Ham Sammich New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2005
    Messages:
    14,352
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Victoria, BC
    What do you guys use. And does anyone know the name of the pop-up blocker that says pop-up blocked, right click to choose settings. Or something along those lines and it comes out under the address bar. Thanks if anyone knows.
     
  2. asdfbunk

    asdfbunk A Member OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2005
    Messages:
    29,812
    Likes Received:
    8
    I believe Mozilla does that by default, also IE 6 and beyond(with SP1 or SP2). Anything else won't have it display in your browser like that.
     
  3. P07r0457

    P07r0457 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2004
    Messages:
    28,491
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Southern Oregon
    Opera > *
     
  4. Doc Brown

    Doc Brown Don't make me make you my hobby

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2006
    Messages:
    16,404
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Ohio
    Opera has a cool plugin available.
    You highlight the text and select speech, and a
    synth voice reads the text.
    You can select male or female voice too.
     
  5. deusexaethera

    deusexaethera OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2005
    Messages:
    19,712
    Likes Received:
    0
    I like Google's popup blocker. It adds most of the features that make people want to use Firefox, minus the enhanced security though. The Google popup blocker has, among other things, a very easy-to-use on/off switch unlike the one built into IE6.
     
  6. cmsurfer

    cmsurfer ºllllllº

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2003
    Messages:
    5,079
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    NJ
    x2.
     
  7. cmsurfer

    cmsurfer ºllllllº

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2003
    Messages:
    5,079
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    NJ
    Um... Tools -> Pop-up Blocker -> Turn Off Pop-up Blocker??

    It can't get easier than that...

    x2 on Opera though.
     
  8. deusexaethera

    deusexaethera OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2005
    Messages:
    19,712
    Likes Received:
    0
    No, that's not good enough. The Google popup blocker's on/off switch is directly mounted on the toolbar AND it saves the on/off setting for individual websites -- so, if you have a Hotmail account (or something like that) which uses popup windows in a legitimate way, you can turn off the popup blocker for just that one website and it will automatically turn on again when you surf somewhere else on the web.

    THAT is about as easy and useful as a popup blocker can get, NOT the way IE6's popup blocker works.
     
  9. P07r0457

    P07r0457 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2004
    Messages:
    28,491
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Southern Oregon
    or you could use opera and not be the moron still on ie :mamoru:
     
  10. Ham Sammich

    Ham Sammich New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2005
    Messages:
    14,352
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Victoria, BC
    No I mean a popup blocker for not just the internet. Like this one under the address bar but it sais A popup has been blocked.

    [​IMG]
     
  11. Ham Sammich

    Ham Sammich New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2005
    Messages:
    14,352
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Victoria, BC
    Here is another pic of what it actually looks like [​IMG]
     
  12. P07r0457

    P07r0457 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2004
    Messages:
    28,491
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Southern Oregon
    you have a listening problem.

    OPERA
     
  13. badguy106

    badguy106 Location:Tn

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2004
    Messages:
    809
    Likes Received:
    0
    .
     
  14. Ham Sammich

    Ham Sammich New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2005
    Messages:
    14,352
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Victoria, BC
    I don't want to use Opera but I found that pop up blocker it comes with Windows xp system pack 2.
     
  15. deusexaethera

    deusexaethera OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2005
    Messages:
    19,712
    Likes Received:
    0
    Yes, it does. I still don't like it, because you can only turn it on or off for the whole internet at once. Google got it right; their on/off button lets you enable popups for just the sites you want, without having to fuss with it over and over again.
     
  16. Apothis

    Apothis New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2003
    Messages:
    2,240
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    San Antonio, TX
    I have to give another vote to Firefox.
     
  17. deusexaethera

    deusexaethera OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2005
    Messages:
    19,712
    Likes Received:
    0
    Believe me, I'd love to use Firefox or Opera, but in the (short) time I used each, Firefox crashed regularly and Opera couldn't handle half of the media objects on the webpages I viewed. That's not to say I knew what I was doing, per se, but IE does have the huge benefit of owning the browser market and being supported in kind by third-party software vendors. Ease of use and compatibility are hard to give up in exchange for added security, which only becomes an issue when one does something stupid to begin with.
     
  18. cmsurfer

    cmsurfer ºllllllº

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2003
    Messages:
    5,079
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    NJ
    You've got to be kidding me...

    It's not hard at all to turn it on or off, or go into the settings to always allow pop-ups from your preferred sites.
     
  19. DaveyD

    DaveyD Fuck Ohio State, son

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2004
    Messages:
    18,781
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Somewhere in Minnesota
    :ugh2:
    Um. You suck at teh computer? I have used Firefox on my home, laptop, and work computer, and can count on one hand how many times Firefox has crashed.
    On a side note, Iv'e never used Opera, is it worth it? Tabbed Browsing > *
     
  20. P07r0457

    P07r0457 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2004
    Messages:
    28,491
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Southern Oregon
    Opera had tabbed browsing WAAAAY before Firefox came along.

    Opera > FireFox > MSIE.
     
  21. deusexaethera

    deusexaethera OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2005
    Messages:
    19,712
    Likes Received:
    0
    Google's on/off button is still easier to use than typing in web addresses. Yes, it's like a 1% effort reduction, but why put in more effort than you have to, when there is nothing to be gained? The Google toolbar also adds a search box to IE, which (interestingly enough) IE7 now has built-in.
     
  22. P07r0457

    P07r0457 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2004
    Messages:
    28,491
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Southern Oregon
    You still use MSIE... you have *NO* excuse not to put in that extra 1% :mamoru:
     
  23. deusexaethera

    deusexaethera OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2005
    Messages:
    19,712
    Likes Received:
    0
    I might switch if there were any other browser available that were 100% compatible with everything on the internet. Even then, I haven't had any issues with IE6, so I might just stay with it for consistency's sake.
     

Share This Page