Please help... my Power Mac G5 won't read my new RAM

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by b-dizzle, Dec 27, 2007.

  1. b-dizzle

    b-dizzle Corporate Man-whore

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2005
    Messages:
    921
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Vancouver, BC
    Hi all,

    I just purchased 2 GB of no name DDR RAM from eBay, 184 pin, non-ECC and all that. I installed it into my G5, and when I check the Memory, my System Profiler still tells me I have 512 MB.

    Here is the kicker:

    My Mac runs as if I have 2.5 GB of RAM right now. No lags, my Safari is fast, I can actually run my widgets, etc.

    Next thing I did was I tried swapping the RAM into the slots of the original RAM. Checked the system profiler, and same thing... it tells me those slots are empty.

    Would anyone be able to shed some light into this? Do I have anything to worry about?

    Thanks in advance
     
  2. b-dizzle

    b-dizzle Corporate Man-whore

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2005
    Messages:
    921
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Vancouver, BC
    Cliffs: I had 2 sticks of RAM, bought 2 new ones, G5 won't read the 2 new ones
     
  3. skolen

    skolen Guest

    You put a stick in each bay right? They're not both on the top or bottom sections?

    Try making sure the contacts are clean. It could just be bad RAM. How did it arrive packaged? New in a box or just in an anti-static bag?
     
  4. b-dizzle

    b-dizzle Corporate Man-whore

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2005
    Messages:
    921
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Vancouver, BC
    yeah one stick in each bay... and they arrived in anti-static, sealed bags.

    The odd thing is that the Mac is performing better, yet not detecting the additional RAM... is this even possible?

    [​IMG][​IMG]


    Right now, the new sticks are in slots J11 and J12
     
  5. skolen

    skolen Guest

    Try running with just those sticks. If it doesn't boot you know you have dead RAM. I'd exchange it regardless tho.
     
  6. ryckmonster

    ryckmonster New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2006
    Messages:
    507
    Likes Received:
    0
    u got scammed on ebay.. demand a refund and buy from a better seller.
     
  7. Pineapple Devil

    Pineapple Devil beat it!

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2001
    Messages:
    53,752
    Likes Received:
    8
    sounds like you got some bad ram
     
  8. Raider007

    Raider007 om nom nom nom

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2002
    Messages:
    17,987
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Bay Area
    why did you get ram off ebay?
    ram is cheap now...
     
  9. b-dizzle

    b-dizzle Corporate Man-whore

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2005
    Messages:
    921
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Vancouver, BC

    Yah, but DDR is still kinda pricey... and this was a good deal :hsugh:

    So is the RAM really bad if my Mac performs well but doesn't detect it? Does anyone forsee anything bad coming out of this?

    Thanks for all the responses
     
  10. mobbarley

    mobbarley Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2005
    Messages:
    9,256
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    Sydney
    placebo effect. ram is not working.
     
  11. Raider007

    Raider007 om nom nom nom

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2002
    Messages:
    17,987
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Bay Area
  12. b-dizzle

    b-dizzle Corporate Man-whore

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2005
    Messages:
    921
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Vancouver, BC
    crap.... it's still not reading... but my Mac is DEFINITELY faster... this is most odd
     

Share This Page