SRS please help me with a women and a work issue that is probably related

Discussion in 'On Topic' started by black jesus, Aug 21, 2007.

1. black jesus

black jesus OT Supporter

info:
    I'm 26, have 2 b.s. degrees, I work for FEMA but don't have full benefits and only work when there's "work" or a disaster. I am a program manager in the field. What I say goes, I run the program, and I do it well. I fight with mayors, governors, senators, and million dollar contractors daily, and win. I may have a future with the agency, but its not set in stone. I make insane money, but most of it goes to student loans now that my miata is done.

women:
    I've noticed that when I'm supposed to go talk to a woman in a social setting, I feel like a child speaking to an adult. I feel like I'm in a room of sharks, and whatever I say or do will be considered juvinile, "corney," and generally stupid. I can't do the "mack-daddy" pick-up crap...I speak to my dog like more of an adult than those guys. I worry these women are going to see me as pathetic, obnoxious ("oh great, another tool hitting on me"), or like a child.

work:
    I constantly worry that I'm not going to make it in the world. Its like there is a very thin line between bringing home enough money to build a track car and cut a check for a daily driver, and living out of my car again. I know I have the determination to work shitty jobs and deal with the lesser income and stay afloat...just no future. I don't want to bartend with gray hair.

Any thoughts on this? It would be nice to speak with a psych, but that's not an option because I travel.

Thanks

2. SQLee

SQLee The OTer That Cares™