Please help, internet question...

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by IceMurder, Mar 8, 2008.

  1. IceMurder

    IceMurder Guest

    Ok, i have AOL broadband on my computer...so to be able to get online I must be logged into AOL. This creates a problem as I cant use my PS3 online because I cant log onto AOL from my PS3 :rolleyes:. My question is, is there any way to log onto AOL from my computer and then link it to my PS3 somehow so the PS3 can use the connection?

    I fucking hate AOL, but the parents pay for it :o
     
  2. Doomsday

    Doomsday XXX

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2000
    Messages:
    14,902
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Minnesota
    you need a router
     
  3. IceMurder

    IceMurder Guest

    I have a router, but for anything connected to the router to have an internet connection, it must be logged onto AOL
     
  4. P07r0457

    P07r0457 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2004
    Messages:
    28,491
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Southern Oregon
    internet connection sharing, and two nics.
     
  5. P07r0457

    P07r0457 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2004
    Messages:
    28,491
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Southern Oregon
    or get a decent ISP.
     
  6. Doomsday

    Doomsday XXX

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2000
    Messages:
    14,902
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Minnesota
    is the PS3 wired or wireless?
    check your router if you can enter your AOL login settings there.
    let it serve DHCP, it should assign IPs to whatever is connected to it.
     
  7. IceMurder

    IceMurder Guest

    i would have to switch the wire from my computer to the P3 since i only have one wire in my room

    and im completely new to this so i have no idea what you said :hs:
     
  8. IceMurder

    IceMurder Guest

    wat
     
  9. IceMurder

    IceMurder Guest

    parents pay
     
  10. Doomsday

    Doomsday XXX

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2000
    Messages:
    14,902
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Minnesota
    what's your router specs/brand?
    you need two cables.

    what i'm saying here is you need to set up a home network.
    pretend the PS3 is just like any laptop that you will hook up to that network.
     
  11. P07r0457

    P07r0457 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2004
    Messages:
    28,491
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Southern Oregon
    google, nigga.

    internetz connectionz sharingz, bitchz.
     
  12. Essence

    Essence New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2006
    Messages:
    3,511
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Dirty Dirty Souff
    googling "internetz bitchz" now...:x:
     
  13. IceMurder

    IceMurder Guest

    but i would still need to sign ontol AOL wouldnt i?

    and its a typical linksys router
     
  14. dissonance

    dissonance reset OT Supporter

    Joined:
    May 23, 2006
    Messages:
    5,652
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    KS
    Also, double check that you need to sign in to use the internet. My grandma had AOL broadband for a while and there was no signing in unless she was getting on AOL's software itself. Is this a DSL connection?
     
  15. deusexaethera

    deusexaethera OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2005
    Messages:
    19,712
    Likes Received:
    0
    Tell your parents that AOL Broadband sucks. They're not even providing the damn connection anymore; that's all done by your local cable or phone company. All AOL Broadband does is provide some data compression (which is useless because decompressing the data takes longer than downloading it uncompressed in the first place) and other than that they just mooch. It's a fucking racket, is what it is.
     
  16. Doomsday

    Doomsday XXX

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2000
    Messages:
    14,902
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Minnesota
    the goal is to let the router do the dialing and share the connection to whatever is connected to the router. I have Linksys and a PS3, but I don't have AOL, so bear with me if I get something wrong.

    1. open a web browser and enter http://192.168.1.1 to configure your router
    2. login to the router, unless your parents changed it,.... leave username blank, then type admin on the password.
    3. in your Linksys basic setup page, there should be a pull down menu at the top. Set that to PPPoE (or PPPoA?), then enter your AOL login details.
    e.g. username = [email protected], password = ***** then save and exit.
    4. shutdown computer
    5. you might need to powercycle your modem. unplug power, wait 1 min, plug power back on. when cycling is done,...
    6. power on pc.
    7. at this point,.. your PC should be connected to the internet without using AOL's software to connect.

    if you don't have internet,... do steps 1 and 2, then go to the router's Status page. Post a screen shot of what it says.

    if you do have connection,... the router should be sharing IPs now.
    1. plug the PS3 to the router
    2. from the PS3 main menu, select Settings, Network Settings, then Internet Connection settings.
    3. select Wired as your connection method
    4. select Automatic
    5. save and test the connection.
     
  17. P07r0457

    P07r0457 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2004
    Messages:
    28,491
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Southern Oregon
    doomsday, I think you are WAAAY outside your league here.
     
  18. deusexaethera

    deusexaethera OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2005
    Messages:
    19,712
    Likes Received:
    0
    So tell us how it really is, kemosabe.
     
  19. P07r0457

    P07r0457 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2004
    Messages:
    28,491
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Southern Oregon
    well certainly masta,



    The problem doomsday (and you presumably, because you doubt me and are asking me to explain) is that you guys are assuming that this is some-how a server-level authentication. It's not. The AOL software MUST be running. As soon as you close it -- bam -- no more internet. And if you log-in with one system, it doesn't allow another to access the internet. The problem is that the AOL software is working as sort of a "proxy" or dialup-adapter-emulator.

    The solution (other than getting a decent ISP to replace AOL) is to run AOL on the machine to get the proxy working, then have 2 NICs (different subnets) and use Internet Connection Sharing (comes with XP) to take traffic from the 2nd subnet (other computers and xbox) and have it passed through the AOL translator.
     
  20. Doomsday

    Doomsday XXX

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2000
    Messages:
    14,902
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Minnesota
    like i've said, I don't have AOL,... but to my knowledge, he does need to set the router to PPPoE or PPPoA to enter the AOL login details. :dunno:
     
  21. P07r0457

    P07r0457 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2004
    Messages:
    28,491
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Southern Oregon
    unless they have changed recently, AOL has never been a fan of using "standard" technologies such as PPPoE/A.
     
  22. Doomsday

    Doomsday XXX

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2000
    Messages:
    14,902
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Minnesota
    I believe AOL use WinPoET, a proprietary version of PPPoE

    Says Connection Protocol: PPPoE
    http://myaolbroadband.co.uk/broadband/faqHomeNetworking.adp#answer05

    How to use PPPoE connection on AOL
    http://www.dslreports.com/forum/remark,6332885

    networking the PS3, nothing mentioned of using 2 nic cards
    http://help.aol.co.uk/networking-your-playstation-3/article/20070515091109990001

    What do I need to go online with consoles on AOL broadband? Again,... nothing mentioned about using 2 nic cards. All he needs is the AOL modem, the router, the PS3, and an ethernet cable.
    http://help.aol.co.uk/what-do-i-nee... your PlayStation 3 help_portal&c=help_portal

    cliffs: pretty much the same as hooking up a laptop to a normal home network. but op needs to use PPPoE so the router will login instead of the AOL software.

    at least let him try :dunno:
     
    Last edited: Mar 10, 2008
  23. P07r0457

    P07r0457 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2004
    Messages:
    28,491
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Southern Oregon
    I find it odd that AOL is owned by Time Warner... A cable company... Yet they sell AOL partnered with dry-loop DSL providers.
     
  24. deusexaethera

    deusexaethera OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2005
    Messages:
    19,712
    Likes Received:
    0
    It's called "not getting hit with an anti-trust lawsuit".
     
  25. deusexaethera

    deusexaethera OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2005
    Messages:
    19,712
    Likes Received:
    0
    No, that's pretty much what I'd concluded too -- there's a reason I said he should tell his parents that AOL Broadband is a ripoff, and it had nothing to do with bandwagons. I just wanted to see you explain yourself instead of saying he was wrong and letting it drop without actually contributing anything.
     

Share This Page