Please Help! Computer wont boot, keeps restarting over and over!

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by Jeff Merr, Nov 18, 2004.

  1. Jeff Merr

    Jeff Merr Elite Member

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2003
    Messages:
    11,532
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Northern California
    Ok, my computer has done this every once in a while, i will push the on button, it will do the memory check, check the IDE drives etc., then it goes to the Windows XP screen where the bar on the bottom shows its loading, then right after that when the screen goes black - and you think that it is now supposed to go to the windows desktop, it just restarts itself. It used to do it maybe like once a week, now it does it over and over and i cant even log onto my computer.

    I tried going into the BIOS and reseting it to defaults, but it didnt do anything, this is very frustrating hopefully someone can help. I tried going into safemode as well, but when i try to open ANYTHING in safemode it says that there is an error and the program needs to close. Anyone know anything about this ? thankyou
     
  2. Jeff Merr

    Jeff Merr Elite Member

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2003
    Messages:
    11,532
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Northern California
    And incase you need the computer info.

    Windows XP SP1
    AMD Athlon 64-bit 3000+
    Gigabyte NForce-3 Mobo
    512 ram
    WD 80g HD
    GForce FX 7500 Ultra

    ...funny thing is i played Half Life 2 last night for about 4 hours, i restarted my computer once and everything was ok, then when i boot up this morning it just totaly is crapped out.
     
  3. kingtoad

    kingtoad OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2003
    Messages:
    55,914
    Likes Received:
    8
    Location:
    Los Angeles
    Are you running a SATA drive?
     
  4. Jeff Merr

    Jeff Merr Elite Member

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2003
    Messages:
    11,532
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Northern California
  5. P07r0457

    P07r0457 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2004
    Messages:
    28,491
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Southern Oregon
    fdisk, reinstall windows.
     
  6. Jeff Merr

    Jeff Merr Elite Member

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2003
    Messages:
    11,532
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Northern California
    i really cant, i have some very important info that i have been working on and i cant afford to loose it, there has to be another way around it.
     
  7. P07r0457

    P07r0457 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2004
    Messages:
    28,491
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Southern Oregon
    so copy the file off to another machine then fdisk and reinstall.
     
  8. Muchacho_Gasolino

    Muchacho_Gasolino New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2004
    Messages:
    364
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    NC
    newer AMD's do restart themselves if they get too hot you might wanna look and see if your CPU fan is ok and if it is getting air
     
  9. Jeff Merr

    Jeff Merr Elite Member

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2003
    Messages:
    11,532
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Northern California
    I found out that my graphics card fan failed, stupid BFG and their shitty fans, but i ordered a new copper fan/heatsink from newegg so hopefully that will come soon and i can see if that solves the problem.
     
  10. chivas

    chivas Guest

    i had this problem a long time ago. it was a failing power supply.

    currently i have a similar issue but it's more of a mobo issue than a power issue; mine won't even POST!
     
  11. chivas

    chivas Guest

    if mine beeped i'll be a very happy man. :(
     
  12. P07r0457

    P07r0457 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2004
    Messages:
    28,491
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Southern Oregon
    do *NOT* replace the BIOS chip!!!!!!
     
  13. XaPU!M

    XaPU!M Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2003
    Messages:
    18,807
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Ontario
    I have a similar problem. Although it also crashes anytime I try to change anything in the BIOS. I have to default my bios manually just to make my computer boot after I have changed something in the BIOS.

    Formatting my comp was a bitch last week. XP doesn't have DOS, and I wasn't able to tell my BIOS to boot from CD without the BIOS fucking everything up, then I'd defualt it so I can turn on my computer and it wouldn't boot the CD. So frustrating :crying:
     
  14. Muchacho_Gasolino

    Muchacho_Gasolino New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2004
    Messages:
    364
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    NC
    seriously?
     
  15. Jeff Merr

    Jeff Merr Elite Member

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2003
    Messages:
    11,532
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Northern California
    OK So it didnt fix it, so far i have posted this problem on 4 different message boards, and have been in 3 different chat rooms, and NO ONE has been able to suggest a fix, or knows how to fix this, so what the hell i might as well post whats happening, this is the problem:

    So im reformatting my computer, i am booting from the Windows XP CD and then deleting the partition and creating a new one and reformatting it. It finishes the windows install, after like 20min it gets to 100%, then it starts installing some other windows things, and it gets to about 15% and says
    "The file samsrv.dll was not copied correctly, press enter to try again or ESC to skip"
    ...i thought that was weird, so i tried again and it came back up, so i just skipped it, then a second later it comes up again, this time the file is esent.dll that could not be copied, so i skip, then srvsvc.dll, then cmd.exe, then msxml.dll, then msimsg.dll...eventually i hit F3 and just quit the install and shut my computer down.

    NOW before you ask questions which i have already been asked, the Windows XP CD is in MINT condition and is not the problem, its perfect. The CD-ROM drive is brand new and is set to MAster, the CDRW is brand new and is set to slave. Everything in the computer is brand new, and the computer has worked before for a couple weeks flawlessly until i tried to reformat it. If ANYONE has anything that can help me on this problem, please talk!
     
  16. P07r0457

    P07r0457 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2004
    Messages:
    28,491
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Southern Oregon
    memory is likely bad.
     
  17. Jeff Merr

    Jeff Merr Elite Member

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2003
    Messages:
    11,532
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Northern California
    The memory is brand new, and the computer ran perfectly for 2 weeks until i put the XP CD in and tried to reformat it, i havnt touched the memory since the day i put it in
     
  18. chivas

    chivas Guest

    boot sector virus?
     
  19. Jeff Merr

    Jeff Merr Elite Member

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2003
    Messages:
    11,532
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Northern California
    Well i was able to delete the partition, so the HD is totaly wiped clean, doesnt even have an OS, so i dont see how a Virus could be there....?
     
  20. P07r0457

    P07r0457 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2004
    Messages:
    28,491
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Southern Oregon
    i'm telling you, you need to run a mem test.
     
  21. Jeff Merr

    Jeff Merr Elite Member

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2003
    Messages:
    11,532
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Northern California
    how do i do that Jolly? I need another computer that excepts the same type of memory and see if it accepts it right ?
     
  22. P07r0457

    P07r0457 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2004
    Messages:
    28,491
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Southern Oregon
    no, bad memory will usually work until you try to read/write to the bad secor(s).

    download something called memtest86. You can stick it on a floppy and boot to it.
     
  23. Jeff Merr

    Jeff Merr Elite Member

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2003
    Messages:
    11,532
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Northern California
    damn, dont have a floppy, i guess ill just try to get a exchange from newegg
     
  24. IAMwhitey

    IAMwhitey New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2001
    Messages:
    1,010
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Pittsburgh, PA
    do you by chance have SP2 on this computer?

    if so, on startup before the window screen comes up hit F8. this will put you to the screen where you can go into safe mode. what you want to check is that the auto restart on error is disabled.

    this could be it, its a new feature in SP2.
     
  25. Jeff Merr

    Jeff Merr Elite Member

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2003
    Messages:
    11,532
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Northern California
    read the post before you reply please.
     

Share This Page