playing pc games without the game disc...

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by rocklee, May 10, 2006.

  1. rocklee

    rocklee New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2005
    Messages:
    1,431
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    TEXAS eloel, Reputation: 1000001
    is it possible say for instance i want to play pc games like starcraft or red alert and installed the game straight into my pc so i won't have to worry about inserting the game disc everytime i feel like playing it??? (for example, something like "counterstrike" where i just install the game and can forever play it)

    if so, how/what do i do?? :sadwavey:
     
  2. J

    J Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2004
    Messages:
    31,686
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    LA/OC
    yes, yes it is. but i don't think it's possible to play starcraft (and other blizzard games) online this way :dunno:
     
  3. rocklee

    rocklee New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2005
    Messages:
    1,431
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    TEXAS eloel, Reputation: 1000001
    no comment...
     
  4. rocklee

    rocklee New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2005
    Messages:
    1,431
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    TEXAS eloel, Reputation: 1000001
    i don't want to play dez games online, i just want to play them without having to insert the game disc...to be more specific
     
  5. J

    J Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2004
    Messages:
    31,686
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    LA/OC
    i suppose you can use Alcohol 120% to make an image of the game
     
  6. J

    J Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2004
    Messages:
    31,686
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    LA/OC
    i've never attempted any of this, i just know it's possible
     
  7. rocklee

    rocklee New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2005
    Messages:
    1,431
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    TEXAS eloel, Reputation: 1000001
    i don't think u understand my question...

    all im asking if there is some way when installing pc games like red alert, starcraft, or diablo etc so that i could install it straight into my pc (like CS) and just play it without the game disc itself. in other words, when i feel like playing for example "starcraft", rather then looking for the game disc to play it...it will be already ready on my pc :sadwavey:


    if there is such a way...HOW?!?!
     
  8. rocklee

    rocklee New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2005
    Messages:
    1,431
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    TEXAS eloel, Reputation: 1000001
    no comment :squint:...
     
  9. J

    J Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2004
    Messages:
    31,686
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    LA/OC
    yes, i understand your question :ugh:

    you want to play without the cd.

     
  10. Yodaman456

    Yodaman456 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2004
    Messages:
    317
    Likes Received:
    0
  11. P07r0457

    P07r0457 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2004
    Messages:
    28,491
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Southern Oregon
    daemon tools.
     
  12. rocklee

    rocklee New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2005
    Messages:
    1,431
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    TEXAS eloel, Reputation: 1000001
    jolly i like u...u always seem to know what ur talking about

    so what do i do with this "daemon tools"?? (just finished dling it) :sadwavey:
     
  13. Nikkorizz

    Nikkorizz New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2005
    Messages:
    51
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    PA
    I'm not Jolly but..

    Create an iso image of the game on your computer and use daemon tools to run it. :mamoru:

    There are hundreds of programs out there that rip isos. Just google it.

    Edit:
    Daemon tools more or less creates an artificial drive on your computer. You can mount a cd image on Daemon tools to use it just as if you popped it in to the cd drive. At the moment, I'm at a public computer without Daemon's tools, but here are some good instructions
     
    Last edited: May 10, 2006
  14. Jman

    Jman New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2004
    Messages:
    48,719
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Westchester/Ithaca, New York
    Why did you flip out when he suggested alcohol 120%? It is the exact same thing as daemon tools.

    Use blindwrite to rip an image of the cd and mount it with daemon tools or alcohol 120%.
     
  15. rocklee

    rocklee New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2005
    Messages:
    1,431
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    TEXAS eloel, Reputation: 1000001
    any tuts on what i must do to play it on my comp (using daemon tools or watever??...if u didn't know, i am noob :hsd:)
     
  16. Jman

    Jman New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2004
    Messages:
    48,719
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Westchester/Ithaca, New York
    tuts?

    Download and install blindwrite
    Download and install daemon tools

    Using blindwrite rip the cd to your computer. Using daemon tools mount the ripped cd image to a virtual drive.
     
  17. Jman

    Jman New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2004
    Messages:
    48,719
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Westchester/Ithaca, New York
    I know for some games people have made "mini images" where it is just a small file that has everything you need to run the game instead of having to use the entire 700mb image.

    I have it for bf2. not sure about other games.
     
  18. rocklee

    rocklee New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2005
    Messages:
    1,431
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    TEXAS eloel, Reputation: 1000001
    so i use blindwrite to read/copy the game as iso image, then i use daemon tools to supposedly play it??

    and, yes i am lost at the daemon tools part...
     
  19. Jman

    Jman New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2004
    Messages:
    48,719
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Westchester/Ithaca, New York
    once daemon is installed right click the icon in the staus bar. go to virtual cd-rom/dvd drive and set number of devices to 1.

    Now go back to the virtual drive and where the new device shows up select mount image. Find the iso you ripped and mount it there. You will now be able to use the cd like it was in a physical cd drive.
     
  20. Joe_Cool

    Joe_Cool Never trust a woman or a government. Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2003
    Messages:
    299,206
    Likes Received:
    517
    For games that you purchased and own legally, it's easy. I do this for every one because I'm clumsy with my CDs and they always get ruined if they're not in their cases on the shelf.

    First, install the game from the original disc. A lot of the time, this is the only way the installation will be successful.
    Use Alcohol 120% or CloneCD or some other utility that will make a perfect copy of the disc. Record an image (.iso, .ccd/.img, .bin/.cue, whatever) and save it on your hard drive.
    Use CloneCD's virtual clonedrive or Daemon Tools or some similar utility to mount the image as a virtual cdrom drive, and use that to play the game.

    Again, this is for LEGALLY OWNED SOFTWARE.

    And yes, it will work for playing online as long as you use the cd key that you got when you BOUGHT the game. :)
     
  21. rocklee

    rocklee New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2005
    Messages:
    1,431
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    TEXAS eloel, Reputation: 1000001
    guess wat...IT WORKED!!! :h5:


    yea, its my legit copy...just wanted to play without the game disc thats all (plus my discs are scratched like shit :greddy:)


    and thanks again for all your help peeps, rly rly appreciate it :bigthumb:
     
    Last edited: May 11, 2006

Share This Page