COMIC Playing Matroska files

Discussion in 'Entertainment' started by kuno, Nov 6, 2007.

  1. kuno

    kuno .... OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2002
    Messages:
    5,235
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Wichita, KS
    I thought it was more fitting to put this question here than elsewhere since the only thing I have in .mkv format is Anime.

    I'm having a lot of troubles playing Matroska files. Its very choppy. Codecs I'm using is from the community codec pack (cccp).

    I've tried playing with Media Player Classic, VLC, BS Player, Zoom Player and it's the same results or worse, only audio.

    Converting it to something else using a different wrapper seems way too much of a task for all the files I have.

    Is there a better way, or am I doing something wrong?

    AMD 2800+ 1.2ghz
    1.2GB of ram
    Radeon 9800 Pro
     
  2. storm

    storm hi

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2002
    Messages:
    2,526
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    na
    i use k-lite codec pac and play in media player classic
     
  3. Tvan

    Tvan New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2006
    Messages:
    9,012
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Chicago
    Sounds like you are doing everything correctly, I'm at a loss as to how the playback isn't working properly.


    CCCP has always worked on my windows machines, and VLC on my mac is flawless.
     
  4. kuno

    kuno .... OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2002
    Messages:
    5,235
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Wichita, KS
    ^ that's the weird thing

    I'm trying to play Tengen Toppa Gurren-Lagann, episode 15 from ss-anon/ss-bss and it's choppy. The video stalls but the audio keeps going. If I try and play in VLC it has a meltdown-audio plays fine but the video stops and goes and it gets blocky.
     
  5. kuno

    kuno .... OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2002
    Messages:
    5,235
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Wichita, KS
    This is the version of the codecs used:

    DSH Friendly Name ffdshow MPEG-4 Video Decoder
    FIL File Version 1.0.2.2002

    ->

    DSH Friendly Name DirectVobSub (auto-loading version)
    FIL File Version 1, 0, 1, 3

    ->

    DSH Friendly Name Video Renderer
    REG Driver File C:\WINDOWS\system32\quartz.dll
     
  6. 触手強姦姫 ap13

    触手強姦姫 ap13 ………Anime Crew For Life!……… ……………………O Wait………………… …

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2004
    Messages:
    41,884
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    In Your Pants
    if you are playing HD episodes... your computer probably is the problem.

    i had the same problem with my AMD XP 2600+ and gig of RAM. after updating to dual core i didn't have any trouble with the high res animes. try it with other mkvs with normal resolution to prove this.
     
  7. kuno

    kuno .... OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2002
    Messages:
    5,235
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Wichita, KS
    That's what I was thinking so I bought another gig of ram.. but I don't have any with normal resolution :wtc:. I'm thinking the processor is maxed out in this case like you said.
     
  8. kuno

    kuno .... OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2002
    Messages:
    5,235
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Wichita, KS
    Capeta: 640 x 480 is only slightly choppy, borderline watchable

    Zombie Loan: 1024 x 576 Choppy, kinda of watchable if I keep back-tracking to catch the subs

    Gurren-Lagann: 1280 x 720 unwatchable.

    I think you're right, the computer is maxed out playing HD
     
  9. 0mega

    0mega Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2005
    Messages:
    16,370
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    New Jersey
    Change your video rendering in the options
     
  10. 触手強姦姫 ap13

    触手強姦姫 ap13 ………Anime Crew For Life!……… ……………………O Wait………………… …

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2004
    Messages:
    41,884
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    In Your Pants
    yeah... sad truth...
    i was already considering upgrading my pc at the time so it really didn't pose a problem for me though. high res stuff is so hawt
     
  11. kuno

    kuno .... OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2002
    Messages:
    5,235
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Wichita, KS
    Thanks, looks like I bought the stick of ram for nothing though.
     
  12. 触手強姦姫 ap13

    触手強姦姫 ap13 ………Anime Crew For Life!……… ……………………O Wait………………… …

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2004
    Messages:
    41,884
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    In Your Pants
    try what 0mega is saying. i'm not in any way an expert on this subject.
     
  13. Grifter

    Grifter Silver Member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2000
    Messages:
    3,117
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    the southwest
    post your task manager processes while the video is running
    might be time to reformat
     
  14. 0mega

    0mega Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2005
    Messages:
    16,370
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    New Jersey
    View>Options>Playback>Output
     
  15. kuno

    kuno .... OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2002
    Messages:
    5,235
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Wichita, KS
    I've changed every video rendering option to no avail.

    24 processes total (with no browser) with everything turned off

    ati2evxx.exe = system
    ati2evxx.exe = admin
    csrss.exe = system
    ctfmon.exe = admin
    explorer.exe = admin
    lsass.exe = system
    lssrvc.exe = system
    mdm.exe = system
    services.exe = system
    smss.exe = system
    spoolsv.exe = system
    svchost.exe = system
    svchost.exe = network service
    svchost.exe = system
    svchost.exe = network service
    svchost.exe = system
    svchost.exe = local service
    svchost.exe = system
    system = system
    system idle process = system
    taskmgr.exe = admin
    wdfmgr.exe = local service
    winlogon.exe = system
    wscntfy.exe = admin

    i do have an external HD hooked up to one of my usb ports
     
    Last edited: Nov 6, 2007
  16. kuno

    kuno .... OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2002
    Messages:
    5,235
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Wichita, KS
    I've tried every option under DirectShow Video on media player classic.
     
  17. 0mega

    0mega Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2005
    Messages:
    16,370
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    New Jersey
    I guess your processor speed is really holding you down. Try the guys on the computer sub forums they're really knowledgable. They'll probably be able to point you in the right direction.
     
  18. Grifter

    Grifter Silver Member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2000
    Messages:
    3,117
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    the southwest
    i dont think the cpu is holding him down
    what graphics driver are you using?
     
  19. 1.2Ghz? I'm assuming you made a typo there... I hope?:o

    But you're pretty much outta luck for now, unless you tried .avi video or overclocked the CPU hard (AVI takes a bit less resources to run something of the same resolution from what I've seen).

    Also, some video formats can be offloaded onto the GPU which really helps, but i'm almost positive .mkv doesn't support it.
     
  20. tun

    tun Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2002
    Messages:
    54,960
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    New York City
    it's your cpu. unfortunately, h264 decoding sucks right now. you need a good computer to make it run smoothly.
     
  21. RDB

    RDB Blinded By Subpar Modulators

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2001
    Messages:
    52,494
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Maine
    i have a 1.333 amd, its your cpu thats the problem
     
  22. marauder

    marauder New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2005
    Messages:
    2,144
    Likes Received:
    0
    Try CoreAVC get a ***copy*** of it.

    To use it.

    In ffdshow video decoder configuration (which is a link in your cccp start menu),
    find H.264.
    change libavodec to disabled


    How to remove:
    The easiest way is to just leave it there and check h.264 on cccp settings. That way FFDshow gets higher merit than CoreAVC and will be the primary decoder.

    but if you want to remove CoreAVCDecoder.ax you need to un-register it first. Way to do that:

    "regsvr32 -u path/to/CoreAVCDecoder.ax" in command prompt.

    After that you can delete CoreAVCDecoder.ax
     

Share This Page