Playing games on secondary monitor (x800 pro)

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by FyreDaug, Jul 31, 2006.

  1. FyreDaug

    FyreDaug lolswift

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2006
    Messages:
    23,228
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Canada
    Using component out to my tv running 640x480 (480p) resolution and I want to get my games to play on there.

    Coutnerstrike source:
    I run the game in window mode and put it on that screen, I cant however get it full screen while im on there, if I click maximize I cant click any buttons on the game, so I was just trying to keep the window in the center of the screen to play it. I get above 50fps on my monitor at 1280x1024 with 4x AA, but with everything on LOW setting at 640x480 I got 8.37 on the TV...


    wtf is up with that? I am just upgrading my omega drivers right now, any ideas?
     
  2. FyreDaug

    FyreDaug lolswift

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2006
    Messages:
    23,228
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Canada
    Ok, new drivers, LOW settings and with opengl and direct3d settings on "performance" I got 10.18 on the tv... still not playable, wtf
     
  3. FyreDaug

    FyreDaug lolswift

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2006
    Messages:
    23,228
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Canada
    cmon someone ought to know
     
  4. P07r0457

    P07r0457 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2004
    Messages:
    28,491
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Southern Oregon
    first of all, ATi == shit.

    Secondly, no hardware acceleration, d3d layers, etc, on the secondary display == owned.
     
  5. FyreDaug

    FyreDaug lolswift

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2006
    Messages:
    23,228
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Canada
    Is that because of ATI? Is it settings? Why is there none of that on secondary display?
     
  6. FyreDaug

    FyreDaug lolswift

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2006
    Messages:
    23,228
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Canada
    Okay setting the tv to the main screen seems to make a difference, its not so lagged anymore. Im having difficulties getting it to run full screen (its maximized but I see the top bar)
     
  7. FyreDaug

    FyreDaug lolswift

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2006
    Messages:
    23,228
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Canada
  8. deusexaethera

    deusexaethera OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2005
    Messages:
    19,712
    Likes Received:
    0
    It's a way to save money on their cheaper cards. I don't have an ATI card in my workstation at work, I'll see if I can find a way to split the GPU power between both screens when I get home.

    EDIT: In any event, if you're using a regular TV there's no reason to try to get your framerate above 30FPS, because that's all a regular TV can handle anyway.
     
  9. Tvan

    Tvan New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2006
    Messages:
    9,012
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Chicago
    quiet, asshat.



    Just set the TV as your primary monitor while you are gaming.
     
  10. FyreDaug

    FyreDaug lolswift

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2006
    Messages:
    23,228
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Canada
    Yeah thats what I had to do, unfortunately it fucked up all my icon placement on my 21" monitor, so ill fuck around with it later
     
  11. deusexaethera

    deusexaethera OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2005
    Messages:
    19,712
    Likes Received:
    0
    I guess the question is, if you're going to play all your games on the TV and not on the computer screen, do you really care if the computer screen is the secondary monitor? Maybe you should just leave it set to TV = #1, CRT = #2, and reposition your taskbar to be on the secondary monitor all the time.
     
  12. FyreDaug

    FyreDaug lolswift

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2006
    Messages:
    23,228
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Canada
    yeah but then I dont get a full size desktop wallpaper on the computer screen then. Ah well, I can cycle when I want to play on the tv
     
  13. P07r0457

    P07r0457 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2004
    Messages:
    28,491
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Southern Oregon
    actually, you can....
     
  14. Clarity

    Clarity New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2006
    Messages:
    3,309
    Likes Received:
    0
    wish i could play on my tv
     

Share This Page