Piece of crap amp! Help!

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by AZGuy21, Mar 13, 2002.

  1. AZGuy21

    AZGuy21 Guest

    Piece of shit car stereo! I should really stick to working on engines!

    Ok...I put a Sony amp an one 12" speaker in my car, it worked fine for a couple days...then started to work on and off...then stopped working all together. The LED on the amp was still on though...just no sound.


    So I figured it was the amp, and went out and bought a Fosgate amp. It worked for 5 minutes, and stopped. Same thing, the LED stays on..but no sound.

    Here's the kicker though...when the amp isnt working, the LED gets dim..but only in bridged mode. If I run the speaker off the left channel, the LED is fully bright and if I run the speaker off the right channel, the LED doesnt even come on! And still no noise no matter what channel its running off of.

    I tried running a new remote turn on, tried running new speaker wires and new RCA cables. The stereo has 2 RCA outputs, and neither helped.

    The speaker is 4 OHMs, the Amp is 150x1 @ 4 OHMs bridged and is 2 OHMs stable. The ground is good and secure.
     
  2. flynfrog

    flynfrog Cool isnt Cheap

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2001
    Messages:
    6,621
    Likes Received:
    6
    Location:
    Utah
    sounds liek you need a bigger power wire and a better ground when you bridge it it pulls way more juice double chekc your power wire connections and make sure its grouned well maybe step up a size of wire
     
  3. 7urb0

    7urb0 Member

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2001
    Messages:
    194
    Likes Received:
    0
    i have a some what similiar problem. my amp wont turn on at all. i even tried hot wiring it to the battery, scrap paint for better ground. does that mean amp is dead?
     
  4. davidI

    davidI New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2001
    Messages:
    2,639
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Up in the Air
    check the ground, the fuses and how many ohms you've got your speakers wired to...if yours speakers are wired to 2 ohm's and your amp can only handle 4 it might go into protection and shizzle.
     
  5. flynfrog

    flynfrog Cool isnt Cheap

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2001
    Messages:
    6,621
    Likes Received:
    6
    Location:
    Utah
    amps should always be wired to the battery
     
  6. ASUMatte0

    ASUMatte0 Guest

    where in phx are you located i can look at it..if i cant figure it out, then i am sure kev could...or ill sell you a nice amp that wont break
     
  7. mrdeucie

    mrdeucie Member

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2001
    Messages:
    320
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    New York,NY
    if he went through two amps it doesn't sound like it's a problem with the amp. Unless he has really bad luck. I've been running a 5 channel sony amp with no problem.
     
  8. flynfrog

    flynfrog Cool isnt Cheap

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2001
    Messages:
    6,621
    Likes Received:
    6
    Location:
    Utah
    you may also want to try a new set of speaker wires if they are cut or pinched it could easily fry an amp
     
  9. Blackz28

    Blackz28 OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2002
    Messages:
    304
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    OP, KS
    It's not the amp. youve got your wiring messed up somewhere. Make sure the power and ground are good, not crimpled anywhere. Also check you turn-on wire. Make sure all the connections are secure. Do you have a fuse at the battery? How do you have the sub wired? series or parallel. Is it a single voice coil or dual voice coil?
     
  10. AZGuy21

    AZGuy21 Guest

    Just to update this post...

    I figured out the problem. The sub was fryed and was frying the amps in return. I took a reading of the woofers OHMs and it read 0.3!
    I replaced the woofer...replaced the amp and its been problem free every since.
     
  11. flynfrog

    flynfrog Cool isnt Cheap

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2001
    Messages:
    6,621
    Likes Received:
    6
    Location:
    Utah

Share This Page