A&P Pictures from paradise. Tell me what you think.

Discussion in 'Lifestyle' started by tom37211, Jun 2, 2006.

1. tom37211

tom37211 New Member

Hello and greetings from the Florida Keys. As I had mentioned in this forum before, there are a bunch of old, abandoned bridges in the Keys. I have been meaning to take some pictures of some of them and I finally got around to doing so 2 days ago. We had some strong rain showers move through earlier in the morning, so I thought that the early light of the sunrise and the rain clouds would lend a bit of drama to the pictures.

I am still new at doing this. I was playing around with the shutter speed and the aperture opening in the “manual” setting to see what would give the best contrast and the best effect. The pics have been resized to about 30% of their original size to fit on these pages. No other enhancements were done. They were taken with a Cannon Powershot A-620 using a tripod.

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------

1 - This is the old wooden bridge off Bahia Honda Key. It was a railroad bridge. Then a paved road was placed on top of it years ago. The bridge was decommissioned about 25 years ago and a chunk from each end was cut out to keep people from going on it. It’s torn up from weather wear and lightening strikes. I remember when I was a kid and driving with my dad on these roads and how narrow they were. I remember the road was littered with mirrors from trucks busting them off one another as they passed each other. It’s a neat little thing from the past.

[​IMG]

---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

2 - Another view of the old wooden bridge.

[​IMG]

----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

3 - Close up of the old wooden bridge.

[​IMG]

----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------