A&P Picture Workflow: Raw - LR - Photoshop what is your order?

Discussion in 'Lifestyle' started by Wobistdu, Dec 17, 2009.

  1. Wobistdu

    Wobistdu Guest

    Having a debate with my friend. I prefer to take the Raw in to LR... do corrections, export as JPG then edit the JPG in photoshop.

    What do you guys do if you need both LR and Photoshop for a picture?
     
  2. ace3

    ace3 mouthify my wang.

    Joined:
    May 4, 2001
    Messages:
    122,632
    Likes Received:
    22
    Location:
    Omaha NebrASSka Posts: 15
    import to LR
    crop/straighten/wb
    edit in cs4
    do edits
    save
    go back to LR
     
  3. Ty Webb

    Ty Webb You don't have to go to college. This isn't Russia

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2004
    Messages:
    10,927
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Bushwood Country Club
    This.

    The only thing I really do to my photos in PS clone blemishes or edit other impurities. No color adjustments are completed. Only in LR.
     
  4. Wobistdu

    Wobistdu Guest


    yeah i need photoshop to brighten eyes/clean up skin/clean up hair/clean up teeth and brighten.
     
  5. phigity

    phigity New Member

    Joined:
    May 5, 2004
    Messages:
    938
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Roanoke, VA
    I used to only use PS for all corrections but that just pointless imo. Raw -> LR -> color corrections, wb, crop, etc -> PS if needing touchup to faces/body -> LR for life
     
  6. ThexToddster

    ThexToddster New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2005
    Messages:
    20,748
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Woodcrest, CA
    Import RAW to lightroom/back up files
    edit
    export hi res to folder
    export watermarked images to folder
    upload WM images to flickr,website,facebook
    Depending on the event, send some images to companies or TransworldMX

    Drink a beer and be glad I'm done!
     
  7. isaac86hatch

    isaac86hatch This thread sucks

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2005
    Messages:
    27,892
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Oregon
    Shoot RAW
    Convert to DNG
    Open in ACR
    Finish up in Ps.
     
  8. Wobistdu

    Wobistdu Guest


    never did DNG. is that just to compress the RAW?
     
  9. Antigeek

    Antigeek Who Dat!

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2005
    Messages:
    9,788
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Abita Springs, LA
    It's a more universal raw format that supposedly will have better archiving in case Canon/Nikon/Sony change their raw file format years from now.

    Read more here: http://www.adobe.com/products/dng/

    Shoot RAW
    Convert to DNG and import to Lightroom
    Fix everything possible in LR
    If necessary, edit in PS via .TIFF file
    Export to .jpg for email/print/Facebook
     
  10. FindersKeepers

    FindersKeepers New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2003
    Messages:
    8,974
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Tampa, Florida
    Import raw
    Immediately do 2 DVD Backups + 2 External HD backups
    Correct in LR
    Edit in CS4
    Save
    Back to LR
    Export Watermarked
    Export HQ

    then whatever the client needs are from there for proofing I do.
     
  11. Wobistdu

    Wobistdu Guest

    hmmmm

    why do so many go back to LR after photoshop? i never see the need once the minor problems are fixed
     
  12. FindersKeepers

    FindersKeepers New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2003
    Messages:
    8,974
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Tampa, Florida
    I'd rather use LR to do my exports than Photoshop

    Yeah I can make an automation batch in PS to do it, but with LR everything is right htere, just select what I want and it does it without having to Open file, export, close file, etc...

    LR... Just does it much faster too.


    that and I only fix minor things in PS, some stuff doesn't even get opened in PS, just adjusted in LR, an done.
     
  13. GlobeGuy

    GlobeGuy New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2004
    Messages:
    2,974
    Likes Received:
    0
    I almost never get out of LR for raw processing. I think I used PS on 5 pictures or so, once I got comfortable with LR.
     
  14. TheManLouisianaFace

    TheManLouisianaFace and decide!

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2004
    Messages:
    32,995
    Likes Received:
    0
    Why edit jpgs? No reason not to at least export to a PNG so you can keep saving w/o degrading.

    But my workflow:

    RAW->Aperture. (But I've been using the LR3 beta, and I think I might be jumping ship :noes: )

    I don't shoot people, so I don't need photoshop for the glamor stuff. All I need are curves and crops.
     
  15. Wobistdu

    Wobistdu Guest


    i export the JPG in highest quality. the 3 pics i had jared print me i put the JPGs in photoshop and then saved them. they printed nice :dunno:

    will i get better quality by not going to jpg until the end?
     
  16. TheManLouisianaFace

    TheManLouisianaFace and decide!

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2004
    Messages:
    32,995
    Likes Received:
    0

    Only if you keep re-saving over and over (maybe, not sure how photoshop habdles that scenario, some apps are smart about it and won't keep artifacting up your image). I just stick to png usually for pshop because I can not worry about it, has much smaller files than tiff, and supports alpha channels.


    But yeah, for exporting to make a print high-quality jpg is fine.
     
  17. isaac86hatch

    isaac86hatch This thread sucks

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2005
    Messages:
    27,892
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Oregon
    I do it only because there is still no (and probably never will be) Adobe CS3 RAW editor for the 7D. But if i convert to DNG I can use CS3.
     
  18. ///Mik3

    ///Mik3 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2008
    Messages:
    911
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    All Over California

    CS4 nga, step yo software game up, son! :mamoru:


    As for me, my workflow usually runs like this (as long as i have the time to do it like this, otherwise i skip step 4):

    1 - Import in to LR
    2 - Edit down to only the ones worth keeping
    3 - Make basic adjustments (wb,exp,contrast,curves,color, etc...)
    4 - Step away and don't look at them for a day or 2
    5 - Come back and make more edits and then revisions to the previous adjustments to dial it in
    6 - Edit in CS4 as a 16bit .tif, doing all local adjustments, retouching & compositing
    7 - Stack final w/ original in LR
    8 - Export to whatever the output will be
     
    Last edited: Dec 18, 2009
  19. isaac86hatch

    isaac86hatch This thread sucks

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2005
    Messages:
    27,892
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Oregon
    Have CS4 at work and used to have it on my laptop when I was working from home for them, but I no longer do so they took my CS4. Just going to wait for CS5 to buy another license. I like being legit wit it, nga.
     

Share This Page