A&P Picture processing... in camera or afterwards?

Discussion in 'Lifestyle' started by Wobistdu, Jul 16, 2009.

  1. Wobistdu

    Wobistdu Guest

    Which do you guys prefer... nailing white balance/saturation/etc off the camera or just brushing it up in light room after?

    I have done the light room/photoshop method but I'm trying to get better at it with the camera right from the start.
     
  2. Girth

    Girth ¯\_(ツ)_/¯ OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2002
    Messages:
    71,405
    Likes Received:
    107
    Location:
    Houston
    Shoot RAW, edit afterwards. ALWAYS!
     
  3. xenon supra

    xenon supra OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2005
    Messages:
    33,675
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    San Diego, CA
    /thread
     
  4. FusionZ06

    FusionZ06 /\__/\__/\__0>

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2004
    Messages:
    86,918
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Sunshine State
    With Nikon - DO NOT process your RAW files in Adobe Camera RAW (ACR aka Lightroom or Photoshop) Do everything first in Nikon Capture NX2 then go to Photoshop/Lightroom.

    Why? A/B something post-processed from a RAW file in NX2 and then in CS3. BIG difference.
     
  5. jared_IRL

    jared_IRL OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2006
    Messages:
    17,726
    Likes Received:
    51
    not if you're using the custom camera profiles with the latest versions of cs3. they're now 97% identical. Adobe made some pretty important changes.

    and while NX2 is a really nice development program, it's interface and organizational tools fucking blow. Which made it a pain in the balls to use.

    I still play around with it on really important single images, but i'd never be able to use it as a day to day part of my workflow.
     
  6. Wobistdu

    Wobistdu Guest

    oh wow ok. well that's one less thing i have to worry about while shooting then.

    so just leave it standard setting and auto white balance?
     
  7. Wobistdu

    Wobistdu Guest

    for just a hobbyist, do i have to shoot raw? or will large/fine suffice for me since i'm not selling pics or shooting a wedding.
     
  8. someonenew

    someonenew He's Dangerous

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2002
    Messages:
    104,681
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Houston, Texas
    the only problem with a RAW file in Bridge is that Adobe automatically hits all your files with a +50 Brightness and a +25 Contrast. Once you've learned that you're a step ahead of the game. Open ACR and pull those sliders back down to 0 and then start making your adjustments. There is absolutely zero reason to process in multiple programs.
     
  9. someonenew

    someonenew He's Dangerous

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2002
    Messages:
    104,681
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Houston, Texas
    some people in here will tell you that shooting jpeg is for snapshots:o

    only time I go ahead and shoot jpeg is if I'm concerned about memory space and I know ahead of time I plan to do zero processing to the images.

    When I shoot the Houston Roller Derby, I shoot jpeg LARGE because I want the memory space (700+ images to a card vs 200) and I know all I'm going to do is upload them to the web for the girls. I don't process anything, so there's no point in adding a step for conversion to jpeg.

    if you're just doing vacation photos and you don't intend to process anything, shoot jpeg. If you have any intentions of processing anything then shoot RAW.


    bingo...getting WB right in camera makes your post easier, but if you're not in a static environment it's a waste of time. Couple of little clicks in ACR and you're good to go.
     
  10. Wobistdu

    Wobistdu Guest

    wow thanks for the info guys. as always, very helpful. i have a lot to learn on the software side.

    do you think with light room 2 i can process photos decently? i only have light room 2, photoshop 7.0 and CS2
     
  11. wizeguy4

    wizeguy4 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2002
    Messages:
    2,454
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Allentown, PA
    lightroom 2 will work just fine. You are a while away of being able to use photoshop to do what lightroom cant. LR can do a ton.

    I shoot auto WB and correct in post. I always find myself adjusting in post even when I tried doign custom profiles. Sometimes I look a an image and it looks better just a tad warmer or a tad cooler. If I know I am indoors shooting for a while and I am not really ggoing to do much with the images afterwards or giving them to someone, I will shoot an image of a grey card I carry with me and then synchronize all my images to it afterwards
     
  12. White Stormy

    White Stormy Take that, subspace!

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2002
    Messages:
    85,486
    Likes Received:
    69
    Location:
    Sparkopolis
    get it right in the camera and fuck spending twice as long in photoshop as you did with the camera
     
  13. FusionZ06

    FusionZ06 /\__/\__/\__0>

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2004
    Messages:
    86,918
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Sunshine State
    No. Don't care what you say it's NOT the same. It's really not even close :o
     
  14. Dwight Schrute

    Dwight Schrute New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2003
    Messages:
    8,616
    Likes Received:
    0
    Take photo of white balance card, shoot raw, sync all photos to card with LR in post. Done.
     
  15. jared_IRL

    jared_IRL OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2006
    Messages:
    17,726
    Likes Received:
    51
    so you only shoot in photo studios where there is no changing ambient light and the strobes color temperature remain identical throughout your shoot?

    Must be nice.
     
  16. Wobistdu

    Wobistdu Guest

    wow just played around with some custom presets tweaking them in light room 2.

    i'm officially giddy like a school girl

    thanks so much guys :cuddle:
     
  17. FusionZ06

    FusionZ06 /\__/\__/\__0>

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2004
    Messages:
    86,918
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Sunshine State
    :rofl:

    If only it were that easy
     
  18. Dwight Schrute

    Dwight Schrute New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2003
    Messages:
    8,616
    Likes Received:
    0
    Haha actually, yes. And I don't shoot in studios. I haven't found a situation yet where I haven't been able to take shots of the white balance card throughout the shoot and get the white balance perfect. But I'm sure there's situations where that isn't the case.
     
  19. tenplanescrashing

    tenplanescrashing Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2005
    Messages:
    9,287
    Likes Received:
    0
    You don't HAVE to EVER shoot in RAW. Different strokes, different folks. I only shoot RAW for shoots i'm getting paid for. All of my vacation photos and random shooting I do are all done in jpeg. Why? Because I can get some great photos in JPEG and edit them to my heart's content without any problems. :dunno:

    And while it is best to get the shot you want straight from the camera, in 6 years, i've NEVER shot in anything but AWB. Works for me, may not work for you. It's a very simple fix in PP most of the time.
     
  20. turbodude

    turbodude Just a photographer OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2002
    Messages:
    10,118
    Likes Received:
    4
    Location:
    Las Vegas
    Are you using a "Picture style". If you use Standard its almost the same. If you use any other picture style or profile, then its gonna be different until you change the "Camera Calibration" to that specific style
     
  21. jared_IRL

    jared_IRL OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2006
    Messages:
    17,726
    Likes Received:
    51
    Yes, yes it is. I don't care what YOU say. :noes:

    I use them both side by side all day long. The camera profiles made a HUGE difference in the rendering of red tones, which were where Adobe fell flat on it's face previously.

    If you're editing them side by side and can't get close, you're doing it wrong.

    (with that said, yes, NX2 is more accurate than ACR. But the difference between the two is no longer anywhere near enough to justify using NX2's shitty interface and organizational tools.)
     
  22. FusionZ06

    FusionZ06 /\__/\__/\__0>

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2004
    Messages:
    86,918
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Sunshine State
    Yeah feel free to send me a profile and I'll prove you wrong. I tweaked the piss out of them all and ACR never came close to looking like NX2.
     
  23. johan

    johan Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2003
    Messages:
    5,123
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Sahasrara; magnetic violet infinite
    Money or selling has nothing to do with it.
    Some pros shoot jpg, others don't.

    Your workflow preference has more to do with how you want to work, what your idea of perfection vs. "good enough" is, and how much effort and resources you want to put into this.

    Entirely separate from money/no money, pro/hobbyist, etc.
     
  24. jared_IRL

    jared_IRL OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2006
    Messages:
    17,726
    Likes Received:
    51
    this has nothing to do with 'tweaked' profiles... :ugh:

    In the latest versions of Adobe Camera Raw, Adobe includes camera specific profiles that correct color for specific camera mo... ya know what. nevermind.

    I don't care this much.
     
  25. FusionZ06

    FusionZ06 /\__/\__/\__0>

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2004
    Messages:
    86,918
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Sunshine State
    Well it always sucks for me.
     

Share This Page