A&P Pics - Critique? Tips?

Discussion in 'Lifestyle' started by macadamiaman, Nov 7, 2005.

1. macadamiaman

macadamiaman New Member

Not a photography student or anything but I love taking pictures. I just don't really know what to do with them afterward.. here's some that I like, taken within the last couple months (mostly over the summer), completely unmodified: (link to originals)

1:
    [​IMG]

2:
    [​IMG]

3:
    [​IMG]

4:
    [​IMG]

5:
    [​IMG]

6:
    [​IMG]

7:
    [​IMG]

8:
    [​IMG]

9:
    [​IMG]

10:
    [​IMG]

11:
    [​IMG]

12:
    [​IMG]

13:
    [​IMG]

Feel free to rip completely into them.. things you like, don't like? Tips? etc... I'm not offended by anything, I'm just a complete amateur looking to get better :)

cameras used: mostly the DSC-W5, last four are Dimage Z6 (sucks), and #2 is a Nikon D70 (can you tell? ooooh I want one :))

oh and, rest of my random stuff is at http://brandeis.edu/~daan/albumsindex.htm
    ...just for fun stuff, these pictures are mostly taken out of those JAlbums

2. angel_fiire

angel_fiire ******

hum..... nice work, but let me note something, ok??

#1. make it BW, i think it will make it more impacting

#4. if it were back lit it would make it much more interesting.

#5. The white area directs the eye right to it, which distracts it from the main focus of the image.

#13. it's not visually interesting, maybe if it were lit (?), or Rule of thirds might work a little better on it.

I love your use of DOF, and the rest of the images are very visually pleasing.
    I love the lighting on # 13, I like your croping very much too; you have a good eye, keep up the good work!!!

3. Jenny Jenn

Jenny Jenn New Member

I think these are pretty good! I like 9 and 12 because the dof is nice. Also like the person above me, you should look up the rule of thirds, which will help a lot for some of these.

4. viva hate

viva hate Guest