php image upload with file_uploads OFF?

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by noon, Jun 18, 2006.

  1. noon

    noon get high and teach me how to listen

    Joined:
    May 4, 2002
    Messages:
    3,384
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Lawrence, KS
    Is this possible?

    I'm doing a site for a costumer who needs to be able to upload product images in the administration section of the site.. but file_uploads is set to OFF and I don't have access to php.ini
     
  2. noon

    noon get high and teach me how to listen

    Joined:
    May 4, 2002
    Messages:
    3,384
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Lawrence, KS
    no?
     
  3. kingtoad

    kingtoad OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2003
    Messages:
    55,914
    Likes Received:
    8
    Location:
    Los Angeles
    I think you could get it accomplished. I think file_uploads is an FTP specification.
     
  4. Penguin Man

    Penguin Man Protect Your Digital Liberties

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2002
    Messages:
    21,696
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Edmonton, AB
    Can you call an ini_set from the script? That's always worked for me in the past.
     
  5. noon

    noon get high and teach me how to listen

    Joined:
    May 4, 2002
    Messages:
    3,384
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Lawrence, KS
    ini_set() has been disabled for security reasons
     
  6. Penguin Man

    Penguin Man Protect Your Digital Liberties

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2002
    Messages:
    21,696
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Edmonton, AB
    That's probably a good thing. I've never done PHP stuff on a server that was properly secured :o
     
  7. noon

    noon get high and teach me how to listen

    Joined:
    May 4, 2002
    Messages:
    3,384
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Lawrence, KS
    Alright so, apparently this server uses something called aspSmartUpload.. now I'm having problems converting the code


    with this ASP code:

    Code:
    
    Set mySmartUpload = Server.CreateObject("aspSmartUpload.SmartUpload")
    mySmartUpload.Upload
    mySmartUpload.Save("/june2006/products/images")

    it works exactly as I need it to. but when I redid it in PHP it doesn't work but doesn't throw any errors. any ideas?



    PHP code:
    PHP:
    $aspcom = new COM("aspSmartUpload.SmartUpload");
            
    $aspcom->Upload();
            
    $aspcom->Save("june2006/products/images");
     

Share This Page