A&P Photoshop wizards....how would I do this??

Discussion in 'Lifestyle' started by Jcolman, Dec 21, 2008.

  1. Jcolman

    Jcolman OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2002
    Messages:
    43,134
    Likes Received:
    90
    Location:
    east coast
    It took me way too long to crop and straighten the 300+ baseball cards pics I shot yesterday. My client wants to shoot more of these in the future, the next gig being over a 1000 pics.

    I know that PS will automatically crop and straighten pics, but I can only get it to do one pic at a time. Is there any way I can set it up to run a batch process?
     
  2. RiCePiCkR

    RiCePiCkR haay

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2004
    Messages:
    5,533
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    boomer sooner
    go to file, automate, crop and straighten photos?
     
  3. isaac86hatch

    isaac86hatch This thread sucks

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2005
    Messages:
    27,892
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Oregon
    Make your own action.
     
  4. Mutombo

    Mutombo New Member

    Joined:
    May 31, 2006
    Messages:
    5,289
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    San Francisco
    Do you have Lightroom? It would be a piece of cake to sync the crop of all the pictures in LR.

    Hint: if you don't have LR, check Tetsuo's thread
     
  5. Jcolman

    Jcolman OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2002
    Messages:
    43,134
    Likes Received:
    90
    Location:
    east coast
    it only does one pic at a time then you have to manually open the next pic and run it again. I need to find a way to automatically run the same action on hundreds of pics without me having to manually open each file.
     
  6. Jcolman

    Jcolman OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2002
    Messages:
    43,134
    Likes Received:
    90
    Location:
    east coast
    Yes, I use LR. That's how I cropped the pics on this job. The problem is that I'm dealing with various sizes so one crop size doesn't fit all the pics.
     
  7. Jcolman

    Jcolman OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2002
    Messages:
    43,134
    Likes Received:
    90
    Location:
    east coast
    can I make an action that will open a file?
     
  8. isaac86hatch

    isaac86hatch This thread sucks

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2005
    Messages:
    27,892
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Oregon
    Yes. But I would simply make the action and then go to File > Automate > Batch and choose the folder you want to run the action on.
     
  9. jared_IRL

    jared_IRL OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2006
    Messages:
    17,737
    Likes Received:
    55
    which is exactly why nothing can automate this.

    each task is different, because the crop is different in size and position.

    You can't automate random tasks.

    good thing you're getting paid well....

    :p
     
  10. MSIGuy

    MSIGuy om nom nom nom!

    Joined:
    May 30, 2005
    Messages:
    4,724
    Likes Received:
    0
    Why do you need to crop and straighten in the first place? Can you tweak your shooting style to eliminate this in post?

    My dad takes a lot of pictures of record covers that he's converted to MP3 and for that he has an old enlarger setup with a QR plate attatched to make a nice shooting stand.
     
  11. EWhytsell

    EWhytsell New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2008
    Messages:
    1,296
    Likes Received:
    0
    I was thinking the same thing. If your doing the shooting you need to set up the camera so that your getting what you want in the frame. If your not shooting then you will have to do it the hard way.
     
  12. johan

    johan Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2003
    Messages:
    5,123
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Sahasrara; magnetic violet infinite
    I would
    frame it in-cam but do it loose so you have some crop room.
    in LR after you drop your rejects and refine the selects,
    go thru and tag the horizontals and verts.

    drop out the verts, then do a crop, and copy across all the horz.
    skim thru them and adjust to taste, hopefully only a small percentage need tweaking.

    I find LR much faster for tweaking/revising than PS.

    I just went thru this exact procedure for a few hundred santa photos.
     
  13. ericande

    ericande Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2007
    Messages:
    1,294
    Likes Received:
    0
    I think you're better off trying to get each card line up correctly originally. Maybe zoom in and out if they're different sizes?
     
  14. Jcolman

    Jcolman OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2002
    Messages:
    43,134
    Likes Received:
    90
    Location:
    east coast
    That would work if I could work this way. The problem I have is that I shoot one pic of each card, front and back. The front ends up being a vertical and the back is a horizontal. I can't mix up the order of the pics because they have to match a specific order for the web. I have to keep the numbering consistant. This means that I crop a horizontal, then a verticle. Rinse and repeat hundreds of times.

    I can't really crop in camera because I need some latitude, however this may be my only real choice. Photoshop will automatically crop and straighten for me but it won't open the file.

    I guess I'm going to have to do this manually. Oh well. I can't think of another job that I can sit at home, drink beer while working and make a few hundred bucks for a few hours work.
     
  15. EWhytsell

    EWhytsell New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2008
    Messages:
    1,296
    Likes Received:
    0
    Well in that case couldn't you use a macro program like the one the older versions of windows used to come with? I'm a gamer and we use those programs to do repetitive tasks (considered cheating in most games) all the time.
     
  16. Jcolman

    Jcolman OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2002
    Messages:
    43,134
    Likes Received:
    90
    Location:
    east coast
    PS can handle the change from pic to pic. What I can't figure out is how to get PS to open each file, run the program, then go to the next file.
     
  17. RiCePiCkR

    RiCePiCkR haay

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2004
    Messages:
    5,533
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    boomer sooner
    here's something else you can try. make an action in photoshop where you can crop and straighten your photo.

    open up adobe bridge and open the folder you want to edit. go to tools-photoshop-image processor or batch.

    adobe bridge would open up all the files and crop/straighten for you.
     
  18. Tonster MBA

    Tonster MBA OT'r of the Year 2013 OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2007
    Messages:
    11,422
    Likes Received:
    4
    Location:
    LA
    sub-contract your work to me!!! I will do it for half of what you are getting paid - WIN WIN for both of us.
     
  19. JordanClarkson

    JordanClarkson OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2002
    Messages:
    59,959
    Likes Received:
    16
    Location:
    Go Dodger Blue!
    You can open a bunch of files at once in PS and run the action. So if you can do 30 at a time you'll only have to run it 10 times
     
  20. HighTachPres

    HighTachPres New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2004
    Messages:
    11,712
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Greenville, SC
    i didn't read the replies...
    but if you're getting paid by the hour, don't learn a faster way ;)
     
  21. Jcolman

    Jcolman OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2002
    Messages:
    43,134
    Likes Received:
    90
    Location:
    east coast
    I'm getting paid by the job. It took me longer to edit the last job than I figured so my $50/hr figure ended more like $30/hr
     
  22. Jcolman

    Jcolman OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2002
    Messages:
    43,134
    Likes Received:
    90
    Location:
    east coast
    I'll give this a try tomorrow. Thanks
     
  23. ace3

    ace3 mouthify my wang.

    Joined:
    May 4, 2001
    Messages:
    122,632
    Likes Received:
    22
    Location:
    Omaha NebrASSka Posts: 15
    why not just make sure they're straight when taking the pic?

    i mean, make a mat or something, and have straight edges setup on two sides to set the cards against. then, just make sure the camera is squared up with this.

    a bit of setup time in the beginning can save you from a wealth of time of PP.
     
  24. johan

    johan Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2003
    Messages:
    5,123
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Sahasrara; magnetic violet infinite
    I see.. so the issue is that you only take one photo in-cam.

    Then you need a way to easily create a horz and a vert out of that one photo.

    Why not just import the pics twice. Add a postfix code for horizontal/vertical. Filename/seq. should be preserved.
    PS batch each version.
    Import into LR after the editing is done. Order should be preserved.
     
    Last edited: Dec 22, 2008
  25. f/2.8L

    f/2.8L New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2004
    Messages:
    4,762
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    404
    WHAT?
     

Share This Page