Photoshop on large print documents on MBP 17 BLOWS

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by Peyomp, Aug 1, 2006.

  1. Peyomp

    Peyomp New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2002
    Messages:
    14,017
    Likes Received:
    0
    God dammit this thing is slow. I'm working on a 1GB file, large at 300dpi. Every operation pinwheels the whole OS. Rendering text... saving... layer operations, scaling anything.

    Fuck.
     
  2. Old School Pervert

    Old School Pervert New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2003
    Messages:
    22,514
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Miami, FL
    If Photoshop was that important to you, you should have waited for a Universal Binary release before buying an Intel-based Mac :hsugh:
     
  3. Bolicious

    Bolicious Handleobraese

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2000
    Messages:
    43,793
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Ellicott City, MD
    It's slow period. The entire Adobe suite is. I've stated this over and over. If I get on my PowerMac at home to do some 'shopping, I want to shoot myself the next time I get on my MacBook because Rosetta is unbelievably slower. Oh well, pay the price to have the latest and greatest.
     
  4. Skoles

    Skoles Guest

    Well, pay to have the latest at least.

    Why not toss XP on there for CS2 for now?
     
  5. Peyomp

    Peyomp New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2002
    Messages:
    14,017
    Likes Received:
    0
    I really do need to install XP via bootcamp. I have an OS X CD on the way to do so. I have to do some repairs before bootcamp will let me partition, and I lost the old CD.

    I don't often do big photoshop stuff, but I am at the moment. And so I complain, because it is much slower than I thought it would be.

    Whats with all the haters always feeling the need to resist any declarative statements?
     
  6. jordan04

    jordan04 The seeds of love have taken hold, and if we won't

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2004
    Messages:
    1,168
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    md
    I dunno but they need to get over it. If the computer's slow, the computer's slow. They act like you're blaming apple.
     
  7. fixthe fernback

    fixthe fernback New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2006
    Messages:
    19,317
    Likes Received:
    0
    I'm trying to make a gif in imager ready right now... none of the windows in it are responding, and I think it just crashed... :mad:
     
  8. Peyomp

    Peyomp New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2002
    Messages:
    14,017
    Likes Received:
    0
    Dude, I was converting 1GB files to lower resolution GIFs and it was taking half a hour each. I was reading a spy novel so I would click, read, click, read. I mean its REALLY slow when performing large raster operations.

    Soon my OS X replacement CD shall arrive and I shall bootcamp... you know, I bet Windows PS CS2 is faster in parallels than in the Rosetta version is for OS X!
     
  9. alptekin

    alptekin New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2005
    Messages:
    4,540
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    jax,fl
    so is there even a point to getting the new osX if you dont have a intel based mac?
     
  10. RedGoober4Life

    RedGoober4Life New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2003
    Messages:
    3,859
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    DTW
    Sounds like gas chromatography hahwhar
     
  11. dirteemac

    dirteemac hey, how are you?

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2001
    Messages:
    7,776
    Likes Received:
    1
    I might get a mbp as soon as this weekend. Why oh why can't adobe bust out with the universal binaries? :wtc:
     
  12. Bolicious

    Bolicious Handleobraese

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2000
    Messages:
    43,793
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Ellicott City, MD
    I think if they hadn't aquired Macromedia, there would the Adobe suite would be universal by now. The fact that they now have Flash to play with and they choose to release new products as an entire suite, it delays changes to single programs that might be ready to go now. However, I see the on product that would delay the whole suite is the one most in demand: Photoshop. With trying to make it universal without bugs, add in all the flash components they have been drooling over, stepping up compatibility of their integration with all the suite products, and then just making routine product improvements and innovations, you can expect Adobe to take quite a bit of time to get it right the first time. They are pretty good at that.

    I expect CS3 to really be worth the wait.
     
  13. Deepsix

    Deepsix OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2004
    Messages:
    19,537
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Canada
    Doubt it, adobe is all about splitting up the programs now. They could have easily integrated bridge into photoshop, but now its a standalone program.
    I always have photoshop open as well, so it would have been much better to be together. If I wanted a quick image resize or rename I would just use automater
     

Share This Page