A&P Photojournalists?

Discussion in 'Lifestyle' started by juneaujeep, Dec 8, 2006.

1. juneaujeep

juneaujeep Jeep Crew

I am kind of interested in becoming a photojournalist. I was just wondering if any of you guys are and if you could give me some advice that would point me in the right direction. Thank you in advance.

2. mojito

mojito New Member

no but I play one on TV :o

I do some PJ work here and there.

Its a very tough cut throat industry, extremely demanding conditions, poor pay, and politics/networking often comes into play with jobs.

Best place to start is build the best portfolio you can. Go everywhere you can, especially when big news happens. Then go to news/art directors. Just don't expect to go work for national geographic next month.

3. Jcolman

Jcolman OT Supporter

I was a newspaper photographer for three years then switched to tv and shot news for another couple years. On the plus side there is adventure, excitment and the thrill of the chase. On the downside there is the boredom, unusual hours, lower pay and frustration that comes from dealing with deadlines on a daily basis. Still, the best thing about my job was that you never knew what would happen on any given day and at the end of the day your job was done.

If you think you want to pursue this as a career you will need to learn photography skills first then apply for jobs.

4. IntheWorks

IntheWorks windin film.. takin pics Moderator

5. Nullius

Nullius New Member

wow, just wow

6. 1992 240SX

1992 240SX New Member

Cool, I plan on doing this as well. I'm switching schools next semester from Business to Photography. JColman, how "bad" is the pay? My father spoke with me about this and I told him I wanna work for a newspaper or magazine so there is a job everyday (rather than freelancing) but I'd like to know about the pay.

7. mojito

mojito New Member

rent "the photographers" and "behind the lens" by national geo

8. Jcolman

Jcolman OT Supporter