A&P Photography crew... v. printers

Discussion in 'Lifestyle' started by Wolf Demon, Apr 24, 2009.

1. Wolf Demon

Wolf Demon HURF DURF OT Supporter

If you were to get your own printer to print high quality pictures in large format, what would you get?

I've been pondering over the possibility of starting up a small printing business:wiggle:

2. xenon supra

xenon supra OT Supporter

my popps has a epson r1900 that prints some nice images. :cool:

3. Wolf Demon

looks pretty :coold:
    That could be something I'd use for smaller prints. I'm also looking for something that could do in the range of 44 inches wide. (the 65 ones are way out of my price range :wtc:)
    Being a college student, I know what it's like to not be able to print something off because all the places in town make you place orders and they wait until the next day. Or the print shop on campus has really crappy hours. I want to do something where people can come to me and print their stuff at a decent price. As well as doing internet orders when I get a site up for it.

I have a friend who shoots photos of events and does senior pictures and stuff and he said right now all he does is give them a CD with a signed paper saying they can print the images however they want. But he said that he'd be interested in setting up a deal with me so that he can offer prints to them for cheaper than what a place like Kinkos would offer.

4. xenon supra

xenon supra OT Supporter

Hmm. We have a printer here at school that prints 44" wide. It's pretty awesome. They charge like $10 per linear foot up to 44" wide.

So a 12"x44" panoramic = $10 :bowdown:

It will take a LOT of prints for you to make back the price of one of those printers, and all the paper and ink you'll go through. It's NOT cheap, and it isn't small either :rofl:

I'd put a little more thought into whether or not its really worth it.

5. pawis

pawis werd em up