Perspectives please - Programmer vs Business Analysist

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by Coottie, Feb 9, 2008.

1. Coottie

Coottie BOOMER......SOONER OT Supporter

EDIT: Yeah I know the title is misspelled. :o

Hey guys....looks like I'm up for 2 different positions at a large company here and wanted some perspective from you pros.

As you may or may not know, in May of 07, I graduated with a CS degree but haven't done a lot of programming since then....either with work or in my free time. I'm interested in programming but it seems recently I've been distracted by a whole new crop of video games, shooting pistols and other things. I'm not sure if this is because I don't want to program or because I'm enjoying post grad life of no tests and a steady paycheck.

Anyways, like I said, I've interviewed for 2 positions. I'll recap them here:
    Business Analyst: I would be the liaison between 2-3 departments IT and accounting/marketing. I'm very well qualified for this in many ways (both prior work XP and education) but the area I'm lacking, real world programming. Basically I'd be listening to the acct/mktg departments requests for solving problems then I'd investigate potential solutions and even design them, then communicate with IT to "make it so".
    It would be a highly visible position and I think I'd start at a senior level.
    More money
    High stress

Software Developer:
    This would be a traditional programming role where I would take specifications and actually code them. I would get neck deep in MS technology and I would have to figure out how to implement solutions other people design. I think I would come in as a Junior software engineer and work as the "lowest-man-on-the-totem-pole" where I'd get all the crap that other people don't want to do. However, it would be programming and a lot of it.