personal trainer sessions?

Discussion in 'Fitness & Nutrition' started by Reznik, Aug 7, 2005.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Reznik

Reznik New Member

alright, so I finally joined a gym and had a consulting session with a PT. He encuoraged me to take Personal training sessions to learn good form since I am new to lifting weights.

Its 80 bucks a session or you can take a 7 session package for ~350 something. I can probably afford 1-2 sessions max but he said that wouldn't be enough (they're salesmen!).

My question is, is it worth it? Has anybody started off by just refering to the internet or books or whatever and you're doing fine?:coolugh:

2. Pork Chop Sandwiches

Pork Chop Sandwiches Extraordinary Member

It probably wouldn't be a complete waste if lifting is entirely foreign to you. I guess it depends on the PT. If he/she treats you the same way they would an 80 year old grandma, then your benefit will be minimal. But if they train you to really help yourself, it could be worth it.

3. Maestro Nobones

Maestro Nobones Great Job! - GLAD DADS CREW

I think my few sessions with a trainer hurt as much as they helped. He gave me part of the equation (basic form, mind muscle connection, some diet info) but set me up with a lifting program that wouldn't get me anywhere. I think his assumption was that I would keep buying sessions to get a program that would start to benefit me, but I am not rich.

F&N > PT

4. is300eater

is300eater New Member