Persistent http connection

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by k2737, Feb 20, 2006.

  1. k2737

    k2737 Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2004
    Messages:
    3,324
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Ft Lauderdale
    How do I setup a persistent http connection? I know there is some way to configure it to not tear down the tcp connection. I don't think it is in mozilla/IE settings....but maybe. :o
     
  2. RaginBajin

    RaginBajin Have you punched a donkey today?

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2001
    Messages:
    8,740
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    NoVA
    Why would you want to do this?
     
  3. k2737

    k2737 Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2004
    Messages:
    3,324
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Ft Lauderdale
    So I can mimick what an application that is being developed will do when it hits a load balancer.
     
  4. jwynn

    jwynn Yeah I Know I Dont Have Enough Posts

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2006
    Messages:
    288
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    FL
    HTTP 1.1 uses persistent connections any web browser since HTTP 1.1 was standardized in 1997 should use it by default.

    http://www.faqs.org/rfcs/rfc2068.html

    If you are writing your own program that simulates page requests be sure to use HTTP/1.1 in the GET or HEAD request.
     
  5. RaginBajin

    RaginBajin Have you punched a donkey today?

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2001
    Messages:
    8,740
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    NoVA

    oh cool. I couldn't think of a reason why this would be done..

    :cool:
     

Share This Page