People running a p4 prescot, come here!

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by Sanc7ified, Mar 21, 2005.

  1. Sanc7ified

    Sanc7ified New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2004
    Messages:
    872
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Houston Mutha Fuckin TX
    what are your temps? ive got mine on idle at like 100 and about 115 with a full load.. and this is the E0 stepping with a xp-120 and a 120mm 115 cfm fan on top.
     
  2. CyberBullets

    CyberBullets I reach to the sky, and call out your name. If I c

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2001
    Messages:
    11,865
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    BC, Canada/Stockholm, Sweden
    F, C, or K?

    If F, fuck if I know. Fucking non-standardized units.
    If C, thats super fucking hot. Normal world units.
    If K, thats super fucking cold. Science units.
     
  3. butler

    butler I need an adult!

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2004
    Messages:
    2,612
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    San Jose, CA
    Obviously it's F. And we are too lazy to comprehend F.
     
  4. BSCVB6PRGMER

    BSCVB6PRGMER Guest

    I didn't know prescots were out yet.
     
  5. BSCVB6PRGMER

    BSCVB6PRGMER Guest

    115F isn't much to worry about. But, getting another fan wouldn't hurt.
     
  6. Lateralus

    Lateralus New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2001
    Messages:
    5,953
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Midwest
    P4 3.0 (Prescott) w/4 fans including a Zalman copper heatsink w/90mm fan.

    Usually idles at 100F and under load about 120F.

    [​IMG]
     
  7. P07r0457

    P07r0457 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2004
    Messages:
    28,491
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Southern Oregon
    42 degrees full load on my P4-550 @3.8GHz
     
  8. Weiner

    Weiner New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2004
    Messages:
    38,611
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Melbourne, Australia
    Its a 3.0GHz.

    Got a 80mm fan at the front and back, 120mm at the top, stock HSF.

    [​IMG]
     
  9. stealthrapt0r

    stealthrapt0r me lift weights

    Joined:
    May 19, 2002
    Messages:
    2,637
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    rosemead
    how do you get it to run so low?
     
  10. Sanc7ified

    Sanc7ified New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2004
    Messages:
    872
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Houston Mutha Fuckin TX
    yeah ive got 6 fans in my pc, 2 80mm fans on front blowing in, 1 80mm on the side blowing in, 1 80mm on the top blowing out, a 120mm exhaust fan on the back, and a PCI blower right next to my video card.. and heres my idle temps, also keep in mind my window is open, it usually idles around 39-40c/100-102F when its shut..when i said a 120mm/115cfm fan on top, i ment on top of my heatsink =)

    [​IMG]


    i havent oced my cpu yet, im waiting on my new ram wich i should be gettin next month...
     
    Last edited: Mar 22, 2005
  11. P07r0457

    P07r0457 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2004
    Messages:
    28,491
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Southern Oregon
    It's called a good mobo, good case, good airflow, and great thermal paste...

    And no, I do not use artic silver -- that crap is junk. It's a stock HSF, too :wavey:
     
  12. Sanc7ified

    Sanc7ified New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2004
    Messages:
    872
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Houston Mutha Fuckin TX
    i use arctic silver 5, that shit is like tar man..i dont know how il ever get it off my cpu
     
  13. damaja

    damaja New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2000
    Messages:
    9,365
    Likes Received:
    73
    Location:
    scarbizzzle
    i have 3 80mm fans and a stock heatsink....my 3.0CPU idles at around 45C
     
  14. P07r0457

    P07r0457 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2004
    Messages:
    28,491
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Southern Oregon
    Yes, it is around 60-65 in my house when the GF isn't around... but she touches the damn thermostat when she's here :greddy:
     
  15. P07r0457

    P07r0457 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2004
    Messages:
    28,491
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Southern Oregon
    Yes it is. There is BETTER paste available for LESS money that is non-conductive and isn't so slimey.
     

Share This Page