pdf network printer

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by Leb_CRX, Apr 2, 2007.

  1. Leb_CRX

    Leb_CRX OT's resident terrorist

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2001
    Messages:
    39,994
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Ottawa, Canada
    what do y'all use for printing to PDF? I need something to share on the network under win2k3, about 30 users...we use pdf995s, but it's been giving us tons of problems

    need another solution :bigthumb:
     
  2. retorq

    retorq What up bitch??

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2006
    Messages:
    6,061
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Mohave Desert
    We use that here for about 4 or 5 different departments and no one has any issues with it. What are you trying to do with it that it's giving you tons of problems?? I think Open Office has a PDF printer . . .
     
  3. P07r0457

    P07r0457 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2004
    Messages:
    28,491
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Southern Oregon
    I use PrimoPDF on each machine. I like it. (It's free)
     
  4. Leb_CRX

    Leb_CRX OT's resident terrorist

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2001
    Messages:
    39,994
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Ottawa, Canada
    not sure...it's weird...it kind of hangs, you send something to it, and the app just hangs, and the print fails obviously...and the app that sent the document ends up crashing

    we had it running on an SBS server, worked flawlessly

    we migrated everything over to a win2k3 server...hasen't been working since, I followed the directions ot a T...and had 2 other guys redo them to make sure I didn't fuck anything up...it's happening to us too

    but I realized the directions are written for hte latest version...we were using an older one, so I uninstalled it...and waiting on tongiht to VPN in and install it and hopefully it works.
     
  5. Leb_CRX

    Leb_CRX OT's resident terrorist

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2001
    Messages:
    39,994
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Ottawa, Canada
    any idea if it'll work if shared? :dunno:
     
  6. P07r0457

    P07r0457 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2004
    Messages:
    28,491
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Southern Oregon
    It does, but once the file spools, PrimoPDF pops up a dialog to ask where to save the file, and what compression settings to use... So that would require interaction by the user on the "shared" system.

    I think it would be better to have PrimoPDF on each machine, and save the pdfs on a smb network share.
     
  7. retorq

    retorq What up bitch??

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2006
    Messages:
    6,061
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Mohave Desert
    Basically what we have with PDF995.
     
  8. Leb_CRX

    Leb_CRX OT's resident terrorist

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2001
    Messages:
    39,994
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Ottawa, Canada
    ahh got ya...shit

    right now PDF995 asks the user on the printing system where to save it...can't have someone on the server saving the files

    scheduling reboot for midnight tonight, and we'll see how it goes
     
  9. 5Gen_Prelude

    5Gen_Prelude There might not be an "I" in the word "Team", but

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2000
    Messages:
    14,519
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Vancouver, BC, CANADA
    PDFCreator has a server installation.
     

Share This Page