PCI Issues

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by OakleyTodd, Jan 27, 2008.

  1. OakleyTodd

    OakleyTodd New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2006
    Messages:
    2,160
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Las Vegas
    So I bought a new case for my computer. I decided to add 2 more gb of ram to the 2 that was in it.

    Anyhow, after switching out the case and adding the ram, I cannot get the pci drivers to load, so my video is stuck at huge resolution.

    I have reinstalled Vista, all drivers, and I cant get anywhere.

    Here is the Device Manager:
    [​IMG]

    And here is the window when I right click the exclamation point:
    [​IMG]

    When I have Vista check on line for soultions, here is the response:
    Description:
    Windows was able to successfully install device driver software, but the driver software encountered a problem when it tried to run. The problem code is 12.
    Problem signature:
    Problem Event Name: PnPDeviceProblemCode
    Architecture: x86
    Hardware Id: PCI\VEN_8086&DEV_2771&SUBSYS_107D147B&REV_02
    Setup class GUID: {4d36e97d-e325-11ce-bfc1-08002be10318}
    PnP problem code: 0000000C
    Driver name: pci.sys
    Driver version: 6.0.6000.16386
    Driver date: 11-02-2006
    OS Version: 6.0.6000.2.0.0.256.1
    Locale ID: 1033
     
  2. 5Gen_Prelude

    5Gen_Prelude There might not be an "I" in the word "Team", but

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2000
    Messages:
    14,519
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Vancouver, BC, CANADA
    Did you unplug the ram?
     
  3. Doomsday

    Doomsday XXX

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2000
    Messages:
    14,902
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Minnesota
    double click the one with the exclamation point, then Resources tab
    what does it say in the conflicting device list?

    Code 12 usually means it was sharing resources with another device.
     
  4. OakleyTodd

    OakleyTodd New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2006
    Messages:
    2,160
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Las Vegas
    Everything I google mentions sharing resources, so thats on the right track. It doesnt list any conflicts. Here is what it says:

    The device cannot find enough resources it can use.

    If you want to use this device, you wil need to disable one of the other divices on this system.
     
  5. OakleyTodd

    OakleyTodd New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2006
    Messages:
    2,160
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Las Vegas
    I'm off to try that now.

    I have four slots. Each one has a 1gb stick in it. The original two are DDR PC2-5200, and the two new ones at DDR PC2-5300. Does the number difference matter?
     
  6. 5Gen_Prelude

    5Gen_Prelude There might not be an "I" in the word "Team", but

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2000
    Messages:
    14,519
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Vancouver, BC, CANADA
    Possibly - it all depends on the MB.
     
  7. OakleyTodd

    OakleyTodd New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2006
    Messages:
    2,160
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Las Vegas
    So I removed the PC2-5300 ram and rebooted. Vista instantly discovered the video card, and installed the driver. After restarting the systems is running normaly, and the video card is functioning.

    Guess I will have to replace the 5200 ram to match the new 5300.
     

Share This Page