**PC PSU Experts** Did I make a mistake in buying this?

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by sj23, Feb 28, 2006.

1. sj23

sj23 Active Member

I'm new to PSU upgrades and just wanted to upgrade my noisy Dell one. So I ordered this one last night:
    http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.asp?Item=N82E16817182018

Now as I was doing more reading on PSU's today I read somewhere that some of the newer GPU cards need about 24A on the 12V rail, which I'm assuming stands for amps. The one I ordered above says: [email protected], [email protected], [email protected], [email protected], [email protected], [email protected] I'm only going to be utilizing 20 pins on the main connector, since that's all my MB has, so I'm assuming the +12V1 is for the 20 pins and +12V2 is for the +4 pins. Am I right?

Here's my system specs:
    3.0 P4 HT
    1GB PC3200
    80GB 7200RPM
    BFG 6800GT OC
    DVD-ROM
    CD-RW
    Sound Blaster
    TV Tuner

The only thing I OC is my GPU, but not by much. So will this PSU be good enough or should I return it for one w/ more amps on the 12V rail?

2. Pet3R

Pet3R Active Member

Rosewill's aren't proficient enough to hold out in the long run. Having dual 12V rails is a cheaper way of getting more 12V power. You have a total of 19A on your 12V rails (14A + 5A). That 6800GT OC is power hungry, especially if it's already pre-overclocked by BFG, and when you are planning to overclock it some more. For your price range, a Forton would do you good.

http://www.newegg.com/product/product.asp?item=N82E16817104953

Last edited: Feb 28, 2006
  3. keleko

keleko yes, he is

rosewill? what the fuk is a rosewill?

never heard that brand before, i wouldn't have bought it

4. dorkultra

dorkultra OT's resident crohns dude OT Supporter

can someone recommend a good psu for under $50?

5. Pet3R

Pet3R Active Member

6. sj23

sj23 Active Member

:hsugh:

7. sj23

sj23 Active Member

Does anyone know any Newegg coupon codes or where to get one?

8. lowfat