PC Problems (M$ Updates, Network Connection, & 360 Media Sharing)

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by Saluki, Jan 20, 2008.

1. Saluki

Saluki New Member

So I'm just going to start off by saying I'm no expert at all so this might be simple but I don't know...so I'm going to try to provide as much info as possible.

Having some problems with my computer (XP Pro SP2). A couple weeks ago I upgraded my motherboard, CPU, video board, and RAM using http://www.theeldergeek.com/replace_motherboard.htm <<< those instructions. Everything went great and I haven't noticed any problems until last night when I wanted to connect to my Xbox360 for the media sharing (which I have been able to do before). I couldn't get it to connect with WMP11 so I used that Zune software (all the while following Microsoft's instructions) to the point where it asked me to select a device to share to...there was nothing to select in the box so that got me thinking there was a network problem. Did some looking around and noticed I couldn't see any of the other computers on my LAN at home (normally I can). I thought that was weird so I then tried to see if I even had my printers (I don't) that are connected through a computer that acts as our print server (everything is setup as a workgroup). All the other computers in the house can see each other and the printers...