PC for a Client

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by oz02, Apr 22, 2005.

1. oz02

oz02 New Member

I have a client/friend who wants me to build him a PC. He wants the best PC physically possible :rolleyes: (CPU, mobo, graphic card, sound card etc) and he's rich so he's willing to pay anything for it. I'm more of a programmer though, and I've never built a PC before, so I need a little help.

What I have so far.

I know I need some more cooling solutions, but I have no clue what to go for. If someone could point me in the right direction for fans etc, as well as any improvements that you think would make this PC better that would be great.

2. G-n-P

G-n-P New Member

hey a 10K desktop, I would suggest a bj port for that kind of dough

I would probably opt for a 10,000 rpm hd and the one you picked out as a storage hd

As far as fans go, you will need something like this (i would use 2) with that processor (prescott).

3. oz02

oz02 New Member

As for the 10000 rpm hard drive, they all have SCSI (if thats what its called?) interfaces and I'm not sure if that goes with the mobo (it seems to me that the mobo has only SATA and ATA ports). Like I said, I'm pretty new at this so I don't know much.

So you think two fans are enough? I know the case comes with a few, but this baby is going to be used for some high-end gaming as well as a hell of a lot of video editing etc, so it could get pretty warm.

More suggestions would be great.

4. Wolf68k

Wolf68k OT Supporter

Well if you want to keep the system really cool, and quiet, then forget fans and go with water cooling.

Forget that HP DVD Burner and get the NEC ND-3520A
    Beige $49.99 or Black $49.99
    Besides being a price saver, also a much better product
    Hell get 2 of them, replacing the DVD-ROM. Why? Hell why not.