PC and MacBP using same router?

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by 46&2, Mar 11, 2007.

  1. 46&2

    46&2 Self ******

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2003
    Messages:
    12,956
    Likes Received:
    0
    Possible? Because I have been going at for about a week now and it seems to be either/or on connecting to the net. Actually, it had gotten to the point that neither will word wirelessly and I have to plug the ethernet cable in to surf. This makes wife very mad since she has to sit on floor to surf net. Ass goes numb, I get told to find a solution. (did I say a week, yeah do the math) so I come humbly here in search of the answer. Hopefully the answer does not involve running cat5 cable all over the place since I want to run both laptops wirelessly without hardwiring one to the router.


    Spec--

    1 MacBook Pro
    1 Toshiba laptop with Linksys wirless card
    1 Belkin wirless G router
    1 Comcast cable modem (terayon)
     
  2. MUDFISH

    MUDFISH New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2003
    Messages:
    12,898
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Syracuse
    mine works fine... I've had my Macbook, an iBook, and my PC working fine... as well as my Macbook, my old Dell Laptop, and a PC working just fine...

    try portforward.com...
     
  3. Rip The Jacker

    Rip The Jacker New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2002
    Messages:
    53,993
    Likes Received:
    0
    sounds like a shitty router. get yourself a $50 buffalo and you'll be fine.

    people will suggest linksys, but they're really turned to shit. my version 3 at home works fine, my GF got a version 5 and her pc and my mac couldnt be on the network without having to reset every 10 minutes.
     
  4. 46&2

    46&2 Self ******

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2003
    Messages:
    12,956
    Likes Received:
    0

    I'm having to reset all the time too. Well, I guess I'll be returning this belkin. I was thinking it could be the router actually.
     
  5. hurleyint1386

    hurleyint1386 Someone has sand in their vagina

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2005
    Messages:
    3,687
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Rochester, NY
    My family uses a Netgear Router at home, and at work, we use a Linksys WRV54G, and they both work great.
     
  6. Raider007

    Raider007 om nom nom nom

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2002
    Messages:
    17,987
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Bay Area
    Dlink router here, i think i paid $25 for it a couple years ago...

    I've had dell laptops, my pc, 2 macbooks, 1 macbook pro, and 3 different ibooks...no problems on my end...
     
  7. dorkultra

    dorkultra OT's resident crohns dude OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2005
    Messages:
    22,735
    Likes Received:
    26
    Location:
    yinzer / nilbog, trollhio
    i have a netgear
    have my ds lite, wii, and macbook connected with wireless
    2 pcs, tivo, and my server connect with ethernet

    never had any trouble
     
  8. DjShiznit

    DjShiznit Representing Deutschland, yah.

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2001
    Messages:
    3,963
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    PNW
    I'm using a belkin wireless G router. I have one PC wired, and another PC, as well as my MBP running wirelessly. Out of the box, the router ran like shit. I performed a firmware update to the router, and it has worked great since. As stated previously, your router won't care if it's connected to a mac, windows pc, linux pc, etc. File sharing between OSX and the PC seems to work well also. I'd upgrade the firmware and see if that helps. Good luck :wiggle:
     
  9. 46&2

    46&2 Self ******

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2003
    Messages:
    12,956
    Likes Received:
    0
    Can't. :( When I try the router tells me "invalid user image file" and only allows me a back button to click.
     
  10. DjShiznit

    DjShiznit Representing Deutschland, yah.

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2001
    Messages:
    3,963
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    PNW
    I'd be getting on the phone with Belkin support. Or, better yet, exchanging it for a different router (if possible).
     
  11. tenplanescrashing

    tenplanescrashing Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2005
    Messages:
    9,287
    Likes Received:
    0
    get rid of that router and get a new one. i've been using a WRT54G for several years now and it's been fine. 2 PC's, 3 Macs, all working just fine. The only reason we bought a new one was because we wanted our NAT to be open on our Xbox's.
     
  12. 46&2

    46&2 Self ******

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2003
    Messages:
    12,956
    Likes Received:
    0
    Well, I returned the belkin and bought a linksys. Now I can connect via the MB but not the XP Laptop. :rofl: Still working on things but I think the root of my problem was the belkin unfortunately.
     
  13. 46&2

    46&2 Self ******

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2003
    Messages:
    12,956
    Likes Received:
    0

    Wep2
     
  14. 46&2

    46&2 Self ******

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2003
    Messages:
    12,956
    Likes Received:
    0


    Yes, as in same security settings/network password.


    No, on Mac Filtering.
     
    Last edited: Mar 12, 2007
  15. 46&2

    46&2 Self ******

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2003
    Messages:
    12,956
    Likes Received:
    0

    Only the PC. The Mac works fine. If it helps, the PC does use a PC card to connect.
     
  16. 46&2

    46&2 Self ******

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2003
    Messages:
    12,956
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trying to connect wirelessly via PC and Mac. Mac does it. PC connects to the router (network) but not the internet.
     
  17. 46&2

    46&2 Self ******

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2003
    Messages:
    12,956
    Likes Received:
    0

    Sorry and yes exactly what it is saying. Firewall is off.
     

Share This Page