MMA Paying to train under belts lower than brown

Discussion in 'OT Bar' started by Sammo, Jul 16, 2007.

1. Sammo

Sammo New Member

I notice some people on this forum pay to train under purple belts, and I know a couple blue/purples who instruct at places. I can see it if you are an absolute beginner, but if you are paying more than $40 a month why would you want to train under a purp unless he is incredible or you are desperate due to lack of trainers in your area?

2. brolli

brolli OT Supporter

A purple belt (who is legit) should have like 3 - 4 + years of hard work and for people who are just starting out can teach them more than enough for their game to progress for a while. Once a student becomes more advanced I agree that seeking the instruction of a black belt would be ideal but... If due to distance/travel/convenience only a purple belt is available then I think that there is still some benefit. Basically the more advanced a student gets, the more he/she has to teach himself and seek out a custom-fitted gameplan rather than being spoon fed what to do by an instructor. So the purple belt instructor becomes someone of equal/greater skill that you can test many parts of your game out on.

3. 2ofdem

2ofdem OT Supporter

My BJJ guy was a purple when I started there not alot of choice here.

4. chechen

chechen Brazilian Jiu Jitsu OT Supporter

a knowledgable purple can teach a beginner plenty

but theres nothing like learning from a black belt.

5. Sammo

Sammo New Member

yeah

6. Ricey McRicerton

Ricey McRicerton New Member

Never had a lot of time training under a real black. I've done a few Matt Serra and a few Gustavo Machado seminars, but haven't trained under either for longer than a few hours at a time.

I train under a brown, and even if they were purples, I'd train there. There simply isn't a lot of choice around here.

7. Bausk

Bausk New Member