WEB parking domains with google

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by Falconer, Feb 17, 2009.

  1. Falconer

    Falconer OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2006
    Messages:
    65,506
    Likes Received:
    1
    I have two i'm not using atm so I was going to park them with google adsense for domains.

    i'm following the directions and it says to add a new CNAME entry with your adsense number, and it says to "name" it "www." Well by default godaddy already has a CNAME entry called "www" and it currently points to "@".

    So are CNAME aliases specific? Can I call my google one something else like "www1" or can I modify the currently existing one to point to my account instead of pointing to "@"?
     
  2. hank85

    hank85 sudo shred /dev/sda -f -v -z --iterations=6

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2008
    Messages:
    4,360
    Likes Received:
    0
    Change the @ to pub-xxxxxxxxx.afd.ghs.google.com

    This will point all www.<domain>.com traffic to your parked adsense page.

    Then change the A record for <domain>.com to 216.239.32.21. Once that's done add additional A records for 216.239.34.21, 216.239.36.21, and 216.239.38.2.


    Edit: xxxxxxx being your adsense number. ;)
     
  3. Falconer

    Falconer OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2006
    Messages:
    65,506
    Likes Received:
    1
    I know. I'm confused cuz it told me to name that record "www," but there's already a record with that name. I will change the @ to my adsense id.

    Ok question: My adsense ID is in the format you listed, but it has "ca" in front of the the "pub...". I'm not supposed to include that, right?
     
  4. hank85

    hank85 sudo shred /dev/sda -f -v -z --iterations=6

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2008
    Messages:
    4,360
    Likes Received:
    0
    Can't give you a definite answer on that, but G can.

    Log into your adsense. Click on AdSense Setup tab. Then select AdSense for Domains. On that page you'll see Your unique identifier is:

    Be sure to add the domain to your list of parked domains. G will approve then start to display ads.
     
  5. Falconer

    Falconer OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2006
    Messages:
    65,506
    Likes Received:
    1
    ^ once I added them to my adsense account it gave me the correct ID to use (no "ca").

    Thanks :h5:
     
  6. hank85

    hank85 sudo shred /dev/sda -f -v -z --iterations=6

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2008
    Messages:
    4,360
    Likes Received:
    0
    Most excellent. I believe GoDaddy lets you copy the same settings over to other domains you're not using yet. So slap those all over everywhere!

    :wiggle:
     
  7. fl0rine2

    fl0rine2 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2005
    Messages:
    1,824
    Likes Received:
    0
    why not go with a different PPC company and get better pay?
     
  8. Falconer

    Falconer OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2006
    Messages:
    65,506
    Likes Received:
    1
    ^ can you suggest some? I don't know of any other than godaddy and I hear they make you pay to do it (lame).
     
  9. Falconer

    Falconer OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2006
    Messages:
    65,506
    Likes Received:
    1
    are you allowed to submit parked domains to google searches? I have two parked domains now whose URLs are commonly searched keywords. I want to make sure people are going to get to the sites.
     

Share This Page