Parallels question

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by cuttin' wax, Mar 31, 2007.

  1. cuttin' wax

    cuttin' wax New Member

    Joined:
    May 27, 2006
    Messages:
    5,735
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    scraper bike/whistletip city 510
    Ive used boot camp for some time to play a few games, but decided that i parallels might be a better fit for what i do. is there a way to run off the partition i already have? or do i have to completely reinstall xp?
     
  2. cuttin' wax

    cuttin' wax New Member

    Joined:
    May 27, 2006
    Messages:
    5,735
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    scraper bike/whistletip city 510
  3. xenon supra

    xenon supra OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2005
    Messages:
    33,675
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    San Diego, CA
    yes, if you have the most recent version of parallels it gives you the option to boot from your boot camp partition
     
  4. xenon supra

    xenon supra OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2005
    Messages:
    33,675
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    San Diego, CA
    and for future reference, wait more than 12 minutes to bump your thread :rofl:
     
  5. cuttin' wax

    cuttin' wax New Member

    Joined:
    May 27, 2006
    Messages:
    5,735
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    scraper bike/whistletip city 510
    nevar! and i dont see this option that you speak of :dunno:
     
  6. cuttin' wax

    cuttin' wax New Member

    Joined:
    May 27, 2006
    Messages:
    5,735
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    scraper bike/whistletip city 510
  7. cuttin' wax

    cuttin' wax New Member

    Joined:
    May 27, 2006
    Messages:
    5,735
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    scraper bike/whistletip city 510
  8. DatacomGuy

    DatacomGuy is moving to Canada

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2002
    Messages:
    16,546
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Tampa, FL
    I need to look into this..
     
  9. xenon supra

    xenon supra OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2005
    Messages:
    33,675
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    San Diego, CA
  10. Rip The Jacker

    Rip The Jacker New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2002
    Messages:
    53,993
    Likes Received:
    0
    i couldnt get it to work like that :hs:
     
  11. hurleyint1386

    hurleyint1386 Someone has sand in their vagina

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2005
    Messages:
    3,687
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Rochester, NY
    you need the most recent version of parallels. you will also be prompted to re-activate windows
     
  12. maczter

    maczter Life is trying things to see if they work.

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2003
    Messages:
    3,622
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Austin, TX
    Works with R3188 and higher for sure. Never tried it with previous versions. Just set my MBP at work up with XP on Boot Camp and Parallels last week.

    I learned the hard way about the Windows reactivation thing since the serial I used was only good for one activation. Had to wipe the whole thing, start from scratch and use the official Volume License install disk and activation code from the guys down the hall to get it to work properly.

    ...and, as luck would have it, Apple released Bootcamp v1.2 the morning after I finished getting everything set up. The new Bootcamp driver installs are much less of a pain. Only one pops up wth the "not approved by Microsoft yet. do you wish to continue installing?" alert box instead of the few dozen or so that used to pop up during the Bootcamp drivers install.
     
  13. xenon supra

    xenon supra OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2005
    Messages:
    33,675
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    San Diego, CA
    if your # of activation uses is up, just call microsoft and register it over the phone, you type in a number and then it will say theres a problem and transfer you to a person, just tell them you reinstalled windows and the copy is only in use on one computer, and they will read you off a new activation code.

    :bigok:
     
  14. maczter

    maczter Life is trying things to see if they work.

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2003
    Messages:
    3,622
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Austin, TX
    It was easier just to go down the hall and get a copy of our Volume License install CD and the Volume License serial. :)

    I should have done that in the first place instead of using the Dell OEM install CD that came with my Dell laptop like my boss told me to do. :p
     
  15. DatacomGuy

    DatacomGuy is moving to Canada

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2002
    Messages:
    16,546
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Tampa, FL
    Woot. Installing Parallels now.
     

Share This Page