A&P Pantone Huey Pro

Discussion in 'Lifestyle' started by OlafBeserka, Sep 23, 2008.

  1. OlafBeserka

    OlafBeserka girls pee pee when they see me OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2005
    Messages:
    7,485
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Hella Bay Area
    Im debating if I should get the basic or the pro. I know a few of you guys have the pro and I am wondering if there you neeed to enter a serial number you have to enter when you install it? I know they use the same calibrator and if you have the basic you can "upgrade" it to the pro by purchasing the software.
     
  2. tetsuo

    tetsuo And shepherds we shall be...

    Joined:
    May 6, 2004
    Messages:
    9,444
    Likes Received:
    0
    hell, you can just download the pro software from their website :mamoru: i bought the pro though :o
     
  3. OlafBeserka

    OlafBeserka girls pee pee when they see me OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2005
    Messages:
    7,485
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Hella Bay Area
    :eek3: Where? Can you send me an iso? I can give you ftp access to my site if you need :big grin:
     
  4. tetsuo

    tetsuo And shepherds we shall be...

    Joined:
    May 6, 2004
    Messages:
    9,444
    Likes Received:
    0
    its a 12mb rar file that you download from their site :o

    http://www.sendspace.com/file/1byz1v
     
  5. OlafBeserka

    OlafBeserka girls pee pee when they see me OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2005
    Messages:
    7,485
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Hella Bay Area
    :bowdown: you are the man! Now I can save $30 and buy the regular huey.
     
  6. FlashhslaF

    FlashhslaF New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2003
    Messages:
    4,586
    Likes Received:
    0
    I wana know how well it calibrates, I just about the spider 3 elite and i'm not sure if it worked or not. The saturation button in lightroom is all messed up when i use it.
     
  7. OlafBeserka

    OlafBeserka girls pee pee when they see me OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2005
    Messages:
    7,485
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Hella Bay Area
    search on POTN/FM. You might need to disable the nvidia profiles at start up if you are using one of their video cards. Ive also read that if you are using vista you need to wait before launching the software because vista has its own color profiles as well. There is some sort of conflict when vista and spyder/huey are trying to load color profiles at the same time.
     
  8. FlashhslaF

    FlashhslaF New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2003
    Messages:
    4,586
    Likes Received:
    0
    thanks ill look through those forums.

    do share how the huey calibration went.
     
  9. Devin

    Devin New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2007
    Messages:
    2,441
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Colorado
    My pro was defective like everyone else's. They sent me a brand new "i forgot the name of it" but it cost about $70 more than the huey pro and I got to keep my defective huey pro. So, i was pleased about that.
     
  10. tetsuo

    tetsuo And shepherds we shall be...

    Joined:
    May 6, 2004
    Messages:
    9,444
    Likes Received:
    0
    how was it defective? are they all that way?
     
  11. OlafBeserka

    OlafBeserka girls pee pee when they see me OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2005
    Messages:
    7,485
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Hella Bay Area
    Ive read that after calibration you see either a red or green tint to your white colors.
     
  12. OlafBeserka

    OlafBeserka girls pee pee when they see me OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2005
    Messages:
    7,485
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Hella Bay Area
    I got my huey today and installed with the pro software, but it says I need to purchase an upgraded sensor via their website :hs: I guess I have just the regular version.

    Devin how many times did you have to call support before they set you up with the upgraded version?
     
  13. Bloke

    Bloke Banned

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2003
    Messages:
    26,775
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Pekin, IL
    canon recrommends the Eye-One
    is it any diffrent than the huey
    canon says it can measure the printer like a scanner, as well as the display
     
    Last edited: Sep 27, 2008
  14. sony

    sony Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2004
    Messages:
    112,723
    Likes Received:
    11
    Location:
    Los Angeles
    What i1 are you talking about? I have the i1Display 2 and it only does monitor calibration. :confused:
     
  15. backslide

    backslide This space for rent. Inquire inside.

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2000
    Messages:
    4,040
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    due west of the Atlantic Ocean
    There isn't an upgraded sensor. The only difference between the Huey and the Huey Pro is the software.

    I bought the Huey and then bought the Pro upgrade from Pantone's website - which was just an additional download emailed to me. It was a defective unit and while the calibration was fine, if you turned on the automatic ambient light detection, it slowly turned my monitors a shade of red/pink.

    So really, if you just don't use the auto light detection, it works fine as a monitor calibration tool.

    But I emailed Pantone and they said that I could ship me the Eye-One as a replacement.

    Eye-One doesn't have light detection like the Huey.


    Edit: I got the Eye-One and it's given me no problems.
     
    Last edited: Sep 27, 2008
  16. Bloke

    Bloke Banned

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2003
    Messages:
    26,775
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Pekin, IL

Share This Page